View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 03:41pm
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
ASA February Clarifications

February Plays and Clarifications

#1 is throwing me for a loop.
"In this play it appears that the defensive coach has begun to come out of the dugout but has not requested time to protest so the substitution of the player by the offense would now put Davis legally in the game."

So if the defense had requested time to protest then the umpire's error in letting the offense come in first would be ignored and we'd honor the protest? I'm also confused by the assertion in that quote given that the OP says:
"The defense requests time and the defensive manager, who was waiting for Davis to complete their turn at bat, begins to come out of the dugout to protest the unreported substitute."

Reply With Quote