The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2003, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Somewhere in past post we discussed a similiar situation and it was stated that POE 25-d was an error in the rule book and should be a 2 base award.

I believe that in 2002, the "correct" answer on the ASA test was that this was a double, but that turned out to be wrong. POE 25-D is correct. But there is no error involved, just an award. (I guess that if the fielder bungled the play badly enough, he could be charged with an error.

If I were the umpire and a drive hit the bottom of the fence, ricocheted back off the outfielder's knee, and then sailed over the fence, I would award 4 bases in keeping with POE 25-D. The ball did not hit the ground and met the criteria according to the book.

The ASA book also contains the following general statement: "When a ball does not hit the ground and leaves the park in fair territory, it is a home run."

NSA is a different rule book. Can't address that.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1