The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2016, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
... The runner does not attempt to slide and simply runs to 3rd base without regard for F5 who she runs over. In the process of the collision the glove is knocked off F5's hand and hits the ground rolling free. Both players end up in a heap on the ground at 3rd base.


Here is what we did and the totality of the situation that followed.

The B/U calls the runner out for interference. He does not rule malicious contact on the play.
Do you have FED rule support for this?

Running someone over is MC, which is a form of interference with the added penalty. Seems to me, this is where things starting breaking down.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2016, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Do you have FED rule support for this?

Running someone over is MC, which is a form of interference with the added penalty. Seems to me, this is where things starting breaking down.
First thing, your interpretation does not agree with the interpretation we have been given (not that I completely agree) The justification is rule 8-6-13. The runner does not legally slide and causes illegal contact and/or illegally alters the actions of the fielder in the immediate act of making a play on her.

The key part of the rule is does not legally slide (as opposed to illegally slides). By wording this rule in this way, it allows the runner not to slide. By adding the and causes illegal contact to the rule it allows a runner to not slide, but puts the onus on said runner not to illegally contact the runner.

(Part of the issue is our association has a couple lawyers who analyze everything from a legal standpoint).

Now, as for my taking action in the first place. I told the coach to return to the coaches box AFTER my partner attempted to walk away from the play. At that point he has attempted to distance himself from the play and I was within my rights to ask her to return to her designated area. When she kept on him, that is when he attempted to restrict her, which she wasn't going to accept.


As for the coach wanting him to come to me. She is lucky that he didn't come to me for assistance because I would have not only said we have an out, but I personally would have been going against the interpretation we were given, and I would have ruled MC and ejected. I was not going to do that on a call where my partner was the primary calling umpire and had a clear view, then did not ask for assistance.

(Per a previous discussion that would not go well, because I was a B/U and would have ejected on a collision at the plate, and was clearly told not to do that on this board).


Blue Devil, the only difference between here and there is that Michigan does not carry over the penalty from year to year. An ejected coach or player is barred from the next day of competition (so both games of a DH in this case).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2016, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
First thing, your interpretation does not agree with the interpretation we have been given (not that I completely agree) The justification is rule 8-6-13. The runner does not legally slide and causes illegal contact and/or illegally alters the actions of the fielder in the immediate act of making a play on her.

The key part of the rule is does not legally slide (as opposed to illegally slides). By wording this rule in this way, it allows the runner not to slide. By adding the and causes illegal contact to the rule it allows a runner to not slide, but puts the onus on said runner not to illegally contact the runner.

(Part of the issue is our association has a couple lawyers who analyze everything from a legal standpoint).
If this is how your association is interpreting, then they are off base (pardon the pun). As you 8-6-13 the runner is "never required to slide."

The illegal contact is part of an illegal slide, period. For an illegal slide, there must be a slide (and defined in 2-52-2). In your case, there was no slide, therefore it cannot be an illegal slide (and illegal contact), therefore cannot fall under 8-6-13. I can see this, and my only law training is multiple reruns of Law and Order. And this is in light being . . .

the runner stayed on her feet, which seems the be the first 5 words of 8-6-14, which is the applicable rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2016, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
the runner stayed on her feet, which seems the be the first 5 words of 8-6-14, which is the applicable rule.
But is it automatically malicious?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2016, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
But is it automatically malicious?
No, but NFHS rules either has MC with out and ejection or nothing, no provision for a "crash" out (ASA provides for a crash with an out and no ejection).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2016, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
If this is how your association is interpreting, then they are off base (pardon the pun). As you 8-6-13 the runner is "never required to slide."

The illegal contact is part of an illegal slide, period. For an illegal slide, there must be a slide (and defined in 2-52-2). In your case, there was no slide, therefore it cannot be an illegal slide (and illegal contact), therefore cannot fall under 8-6-13. I can see this, and my only law training is multiple reruns of Law and Order. And this is in light being . . .

the runner stayed on her feet, which seems the be the first 5 words of 8-6-14, which is the applicable rule.
8-6-14 is a judgment on the umpires part. Per the definition of malicious contact in rule 2-35 the umpire must judge what is excessive force with an opponent. Personally I would have called it malicious, but that was not my call as I was not the covering umpire.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2016, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
8-6-14 is a judgment on the umpires part. Per the definition of malicious contact in rule 2-35 the umpire must judge what is excessive force with an opponent. Personally I would have called it malicious, but that was not my call as I was not the covering umpire.
See my response to Cecil. NFHS rules do not provide a "crash" out and no ejection. Either you have an out and ejection under 8-6-14 or nothing. And that was the point of my first post to you: what rule gives the bases for your partner's ruling? And 8-6-13 is not the answer.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 22, 2016, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
See my response to Cecil. NFHS rules do not provide a "crash" out and no ejection. Either you have an out and ejection under 8-6-14 or nothing. And that was the point of my first post to you: what rule gives the bases for your partner's ruling? And 8-6-13 is not the answer.
You guys really need to pay attention to the wording of the rules, including the comma's, (As does the NFHS). As I have previously stated, the wording of the rule, as stated by several umpire/attorney's does in fact allow for such a ruling based on the way 8-6-13 is written. Is it the way 8-6-13 is intended to be applied? Maybe, maybe not, but given the way NFHS rules are worded, I think their writing is sloppy, which allows for this legalized interpretation for plays like this.

As I have also stated, if he had come to me for assistance, we would have had a MC contact ejection as well as the coach who I'm sure would have still earned her trip to the parking lot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would you handle it? Ch1town Basketball 10 Thu Dec 13, 2007 02:13am
How do you handle this................. FishinRef Basketball 16 Tue Feb 28, 2006 07:48pm
Another 'How would you handle this'...... SeanFitzRef Basketball 6 Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:53pm
how would you handle this? chrs_schuster Basketball 5 Tue Jan 03, 2006 03:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1