The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 293
Send a message via Yahoo to SeanFitzRef
Game last night, two officials. A5 grabs a rebound, then goes up for a shot. L calls a push on B2, grants two shots, BUT THE BALL GOES IN!! T never signals one way or the other, so two shots are granted, and they never counted the basket. This happens in the 3rd quarter, game eventually goes to overtime. Is this a correctable error?
__________________
Nature gave men two ends - one to sit on and one to think with. Ever since then man's success or failure has been dependent on the one he used most.
-- George R. Kirkpatrick
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
The crowd wasn't all over you because of this? Three guys I went to observe one night had a similar situation. The shot fell, they granted two shots and the crowd lost it.

I would say it is a correctable error:

Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
__________________
[B]Things turn out best for those that make the best out of the way things turn out - John Wooden[B]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Check rules 2-10-3 and 2-10-4.
__________________
Don't call 'em all, just the ones that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:34am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Correctable as long as it is recognized before the second live ball if the error occurred when the clock was running.

NCAA rules reference.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
A bizarre explanantion . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Game last night, two officials. A5 grabs a rebound, then goes up for a shot. L calls a push on B2, grants two shots, BUT THE BALL GOES IN!! T never signals one way or the other, so two shots are granted, and they never counted the basket. This happens in the 3rd quarter, game eventually goes to overtime. Is this a correctable error?
Was the double bonus in effect? Perhaps the lead had the foul on the floor . . .
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Re: A bizarre explanantion . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Game last night, two officials. A5 grabs a rebound, then goes up for a shot. L calls a push on B2, grants two shots, BUT THE BALL GOES IN!! T never signals one way or the other, so two shots are granted, and they never counted the basket. This happens in the 3rd quarter, game eventually goes to overtime. Is this a correctable error?
Was the double bonus in effect? Perhaps the lead had the foul on the floor . . .
I have never called a foul on the floor. Most of my fouls are on White 23, Blue 34 or some other player. Occasionally, I will call a foul before the shot though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Re: Re: A bizarre explanantion . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Game last night, two officials. A5 grabs a rebound, then goes up for a shot. L calls a push on B2, grants two shots, BUT THE BALL GOES IN!! T never signals one way or the other, so two shots are granted, and they never counted the basket. This happens in the 3rd quarter, game eventually goes to overtime. Is this a correctable error?
Was the double bonus in effect? Perhaps the lead had the foul on the floor . . .
I have never called a foul on the floor. Most of my fouls are on White 23, Blue 34 or some other player. Occasionally, I will call a foul before the shot though.
W&S, lol, you are silly!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1