![]() |
|
|||
DP Flex
Always thought I had DP/Flex down pat, so I can't tell if this is a dumb question or not...
Starting lineup, DP is in the field (along with the 8 other starters)... Flex in the 10th spot is not listed in any position. Should I accept this as a legal lineup? This might be an even dumber part... If it is legal, and accepted, when Flex does come in is it considered a re-entry (because just being listed is considered an entry)? Last edited by jmkupka; Thu May 19, 2016 at 02:00pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
For example: Start with the Flex playing left field and immediately have the DP replace the flex. This gives you effectively a 9 person line-up. Now late in the game when you go to make switches you can first go back up to 10. But in this scenario the Flex burns her initial eligibility at the plate meeting and has to use her re-entry to bring it up to 10. |
|
|||
Quote:
Related scenario: What if the PU accepts a lineup with 11 (including a legally listed flex) or 10 (with no flex) by mistake. What do you do when that comes up and does it matter if it comes up while the extra player is at bat? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Didn't really happen, just a hypothetical sit that just occurred to me...
Let's say, the coach wanted the options of a DP/Flex available. Coach knows this must happen at the start of the game, but she didn't need the Flex's talents just yet. From youngump's response, it seems the required procedure would be to list Flex in a defense spot, then immediately burn a DP-to-Flex sub at the pregame. Thanks guys. Last edited by jmkupka; Thu May 19, 2016 at 03:23pm. |
|
|||
Actually, assuming it was not discussed at the plate meeting, my suggestion would be to treat it as a standard starting 9.
DP/Flex was not used at the beginning of the game, so proceed with a starting 9 plus subs. IOW, do not allow the team to go to 10 players, since they were never at 10 players to begin with.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
The rules define the FLEX as being able to play any defensive position and also state that all players must have a defensive position listed on the lineup. Since the DP is not a defensive player, s/he is simply noted on the lineup as DP.
Therefore, the FLEX must have a defensive position listed in order for the lineup to be accepted by the PU. This should be addressed at the pregame...."Coach, what position is your FLEX playing?" Note it on the card, then if they want to make a change after the lineups are accepted, you note that as well.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
At my plate conference I first note if the DP Flex is being used. Both DP and Flex must be noted in the positions portion of lineup. I then look for the Pitcher and Catcher announcing each by jersey number. I then make sure all 9 Defensive positions are accounted for including where the Flex is starting at on Defense. I then check how many subs and that their is no duplicate Jersey numbers. I then have each coach double check their lineup cards when they return them to me I say they are official. I then ask them if they would like to make any changes at this time All of this takes about a minute for each team and makes sure that nothing is missed.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
I don't see the need for:
"make sure all 9 Defensive positions are accounted for including where the Flex is starting at on Defense" "where the Flex is starting " only if P or C. I don't see the need for: "ask them if they would like to make any changes at this time "
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Andy there is no need to list the position with the flex except pitcher and catcher, and your doing this for line up card management for courtesy runners not the flex. The flex can play any of the nine or she's on the bench. That's all I need to know. I don't even understand why you would need it for line up management.
![]() Ron |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
What is also clear, based on casebook situations 3.3.2 D, and 3.3.5 A and 3.3.5 B is that the player may be withdrawn from the game (substituted for) and has one re-entry remaining. In this case a legal substitution because the DP can play defense for the FLEX, which reduces the lineup from 10 players to 9 players, provided the coach has informed you that this substitution was taking place. If they did not report this to you, and you or the opponent noticed the DP playing defense, not the FLEX, and it was not reported we now have an unreported substitution situation and the associated penalties for such a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
DP/Flex | sprivitor | Softball | 4 | Sat Mar 06, 2010 09:37pm |
Flex / DP | sprivitor | Softball | 2 | Sat Jan 30, 2010 08:19pm |
Reporting Flex for DP and DP for Flex | shipwreck | Softball | 5 | Tue Sep 07, 2004 02:44pm |
FLEX AND DP | mg43 | Softball | 7 | Thu Jul 08, 2004 02:50pm |
DP/FLEX | db | Softball | 11 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 01:46pm |