![]() |
|
|||
|
I rule this as batting out of order, brought to your attention by the offensive team (you said the [improper] batter told you that was only 2 pitches).
The proper batter should be brought to the plate with the existing count, which in this case is 4 balls and an awarded 1B. Since she is already on 1B, the following batter should bat with a new count. The (wrong) batter never went to 1B, so can't be appealed by the defense....especially since the offense brought it to your attention first. You got this right, as far as I can tell. The out-of-order batter cannot be an illegal or unannounced sub, as she is already legally in the game. At most, she was batting out of order, and it seems you applied the right ruling.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Shot clock error- correctable error? | mutantducky | Basketball | 11 | Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:35am |
| Lead-off Batter = On-Deck Batter? | Manny A | Softball | 14 | Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27am |
| Fastpitch: Batter's Location in Batter's Box Compared to Plate | SoftballGuy247 | Softball | 43 | Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32am |
| Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
| Player Error or Referee Error??? | BK | Basketball | 21 | Fri Jan 16, 2004 01:04pm |