The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 05, 2016, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
------------------------------------------------------------------

Very Ambiguous

R1 is on first base; B2 is at bat with an 0-2 count and no outs. B2 swings at a third strike that is dropped by the catcher. B2 runs toward first base. As R1 is diving back to first base, B2 is hit in the back with F2's throw to first base and the ball goes out of play. What is the result of the play?
a. B2 is awarded second base; R1 is awarded third base.
b. B2 is declared out for interference; R1 remains at first base.
c. B2 is declared out for interference; R1 is awarded second base.
d. B2 has struck out; R1 remains at first base.
e. B2 has struck out and is charged with interference; R1 is declared out as the runner closest to home.
Explanation 8-6-16c Penalty

As discussed, it could be INT if judged so as hindering fielder’s catch, HTBT.
The throw was late enough that R1 had time to advance, react, then return to dive back.
Wait wait wait. There are no outs and 1st base is occupied. B2 swings at a third strike SO SHE HAS STRUCK OUT FULL STOP. Anything that happens after that is irrelevant to B2. B2's next destination is the dugout, not 2B.

Am I missing something here? B2 is out and R1 can be awarded 3B on the thrown ball to dead ball territory. Or maybe it's INT, although 8-6-16c says offensive team INT is not applicable to a BR running on the dropped third strike rule. HTBT, of course. This player is NOT entitled to run as a BR under the D3K rule, though; she's out already. Answer: (f), no correct answer but (e) is plausible. A thrown ball has gone out of play, so absent an INT ruling, R1 isn't staying at 1B. (A) is the least correct answer, because it's wrong unless I have completely boned the third-strike rule.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Thu May 05, 2016 at 04:07pm. Reason: typos and stuff
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Test Question agr8zebra Softball 30 Tue Mar 17, 2015 09:59am
[NFHS] Question on Annual Interpretations Stat-Man Softball 0 Fri Jul 24, 2009 08:17pm
NFHS Test question youngump Softball 14 Tue Mar 03, 2009 08:33pm
NFHS Test Question: What Does it Mean? Spence Basketball 15 Thu Sep 25, 2008 06:33am
NFHS test question # 99 roadking Basketball 2 Sat Nov 17, 2007 06:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1