The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2016, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
R1 on 1st, fly ball to OF, caught. R1 was running, then was obstructed while returning on the catch. Throw from OF gets through IF, not dead, and R1 tries again to advance. Is R1 protected from out between 1st and 2nd if:

a) R1 did not reach 1st on the original return, or
Yes with the exception of an appeal for the base left too soon
Quote:

b) R1 did reach 1st on the original return
Yes
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
OK, another case:
Runners on 1st and 2nd, base hit to LF.
R1 going to 3rd, making wide turn but collides with F5 barely before reaching 3rd. OBS called.
R1 continues toward home, LF throws to catcher, R1 tagged out 15 – 20 feet before home.

Is there any reason, with regard to the OBS, to nullify the out?
For example, R1’s path looked like an attempt to score and the OBS impeded.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
OK, another case:
Runners on 1st and 2nd, base hit to LF.
R1 going to 3rd, making wide turn but collides with F5 barely before reaching 3rd. OBS called.
R1 continues toward home, LF throws to catcher, R1 tagged out 15 – 20 feet before home.

Is there any reason, with regard to the OBS, to nullify the out?
For example, R1’s path looked like an attempt to score and the OBS impeded.
As written, the runner was only protected between 2nd and 3rd, so out at home would be the call.

Remember, at the time of OBS you judge what base the runner would have achieved. If that judgement was that the runner would have scored without the OBS, then award home. But I do not see that in this sitch.

If you had written that OBS occurred at 3B, then there is the argument that the runner was also protected between 3B and HP, in which case the runner would be returned to 3B.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
OK, another case:
Runners on 1st and 2nd, base hit to LF.
R1 going to 3rd, making wide turn but collides with F5 barely before reaching 3rd. OBS called.
R1 continues toward home, LF throws to catcher, R1 tagged out 15 – 20 feet before home.

Is there any reason, with regard to the OBS, to nullify the out?
For example, R1’s path looked like an attempt to score and the OBS impeded.
Two possibilities. One if he would have scored absent the obstruction. HTBT, but I'm guessing you're implying no. Second, if a runner is bumped before a base and as a result falls or stumbles past the base, then HTBT, but I'm likely determining that they were obstructed both before and after the base and have them protected on both sides of the bag.
The rulebook isn't super clear on the latter but we've had discussions to this effect here before. It basically comes down to where the obstruction occurred in your judgment and in my mind I tend to judge that it occurred over the space the runner was actively hindered.
Note, you need this interpretation if you have this situation: Runner going to first with no shot at second trips over the inattentive F3 and is now lying between 1st and 2nd where she is tagged.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Second, if a runner is bumped before a base and as a result falls or stumbles past the base, then HTBT, but I'm likely determining that they were obstructed both before and after the base and have them protected on both sides of the bag.
The rulebook isn't super clear on the latter but we've had discussions to this effect here before. It basically comes down to where the obstruction occurred in your judgment and in my mind I tend to judge that it occurred over the space the runner was actively hindered..
I'm solidly in that camp. Obstruction, the fact that a runner is hinder or otherwise impeded, should not be considered as existing at exactly and only one spot where it began; it should be considered in its' totality, and for the entire area it results in the runner being impeded. I hardly believe that in the cited post. the runner was hindered just that instant ("barely before reaching third", and was fully recovered and no longer hindered one step later past third.

I often use driving analogies; right of way, etc. This, to me, is like the traffic on my GPS; it barely helps to tell me there is an incident 8.3 miles ahead if they don't also tell me there is already a 2.1 mile back up!! Well, more like the inverse, I suspect; you have to consider the affect and length of space necessary to regain balance and full speed as part of the initial obstruction if the goal (as stated) is to fully negate the effect of the obstruction.

On the field, I'm considering what I read here from CecilOne as obstructed both before and after; the judgement of home may not happen, but I'm not having an out on this, either. To me, any other more literal ruling simply isn't fair to the aggrieved party, and ultimately rewards the defense for obstructing.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2016, 07:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Question that, IMO, is pertinent:

When making the "wide turn", did this action cause the runner to adjust the path and step toward F5 (who may have believed s/he was clear of the runner's established path) to initiate the contact?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2016, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Question that, IMO, is pertinent:

When making the "wide turn", did this action cause the runner to adjust the path and step toward F5 (who may have believed s/he was clear of the runner's established path) to initiate the contact?
Possibly. Why?
Do you say the F5 thinking changes the call & result?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2016, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Possibly. Why?
Do you say the F5 thinking changes the call & result?
If the runner is attempting to make contact/draw an OBS call, s/he is no longer attempting to advance to the next base hence cannot be impeded in that effort
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If the runner is attempting to make contact/draw an OBS call, s/he is no longer attempting to advance to the next base hence cannot be impeded in that effort
I would agree with that. I am not going to reward an offensive player if they are the one going out of their way to make contact and draw an obstruction call. I will add this however, for me to not call the obstruction it had better be a very clear move to initiate the contact.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2016, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
OK, another case:
Runners on 1st and 2nd, base hit to LF.
R1 going to 3rd, making wide turn but collides with F5 barely before reaching 3rd. OBS called.
R1 continues toward home, LF throws to catcher, R1 tagged out 15 – 20 feet before home.

Is there any reason, with regard to the OBS, to nullify the out?
For example, R1’s path looked like an attempt to score and the OBS impeded.
The only question I have is how big was the collision. Was she bumped off her stride then thrown out by 15-20 feet?. I have an out as she exceeded her protection. If she was knocked to the ground I can justify the 15-20 feet was listed as a result of going to the ground and I will award home plate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case 3.3.6 Sit D palmettoref Basketball 48 Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:39pm
Is there a case for this sit? stosh Basketball 13 Thu Jan 06, 2011 02:38pm
The case against two man biggravy Basketball 25 Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:32am
Case 6.3.2 rwest Basketball 8 Thu Oct 28, 2004 04:04pm
case 8.3.1 A biglaz Baseball 3 Thu Mar 27, 2003 01:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1