The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Dec 31, 2015, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member

Recommendations for Shin Guards

Hello all,

I'd like to know what your recommendations are for shin guards. I've been using some modified Diamond iX3 shin guards for 7 years, but they need to be replaced. I modified them by removing the top portion of the guard around the knee area and my knees are completely unprotected. I've only been hit there twice in that time and like the freedom that the open knees give. That being said, I'm starting to do higher level ball and need the knee protection.

I've tried the Davis Shins and didn't really like them. My pants kept going between the shin guard and my leg when I stood from my plate position. Has anyone used the Diamond Featherweight? What about the Schutt AiR-U5?

Thanks for your help!
Old Thu Dec 31, 2015, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member

I've used 3 sets of leg guards in 10 years. To date, my favorites are the All Star Leg Guard LGU313. They're a low profile but still provide decent protection. They don't have real good lower ankle protection, but they're light and comfortable. And they're a 17" model which fit me better.

You're more likely to get hurt in lower level of ball when pitchers start throwing hard without control and catchers can't catch.

I worked one game with just the soccer type shin guards. Late in the game, the coach changed everybody's positions. This girl came out to warm up a new pitcher and proudly exclaimed that this was her first time catching. The 12-year old pitcher could bring some decent heat. Catcher completely whiffed on a pitch and it hit just below my kneecap. Finished the game, but had bad swelling, had to go to the ER for X-rays, ended up on crutches and missed 2 days of work.

So, protect your knees!
Old Thu Dec 31, 2015, 09:05pm
High Five Master