The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Question

I thought that I had this all figured out and now am not sure. When a ruuner overruns first base and lets say turns to her right, and THEN the ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle, is she committed to first or does the pitcher have to have the ball in the circle and THEN the runner overrun first, turn right to be committed to first? I just am not sure of the timing. Here is play we had that doesn't go completely like this play but here goes anyway. Batter hits a line drive to right field, fielder throws to first in an attempt to get a force out but runner beats the throw. She overruns first, turns to her right and starts to walk back to first, THEN the ball goes back to the pitcher in the circle. Before the runner returns to first, she takes off for second. My partner calls dead ball and runner out for look back violation. Is this correct? Does walking back to first and then ball going in the circle commit her to first? Thanks, Dave
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1