|  | 
| 
 | |||||||
|  | 
|  | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rating:   | Display Modes | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				I know that this is a referee forum and all, BUT a scoring question
			 
			
			I know that in NCAA when a throw-in goes into the net after the ball was deflected by the keeper, the goal counts and is awarded to the thrower.  I assume that this is true for NFHS as well.  During our game this past weekend, the announcer credited the goal to the player closest to the keeper -- who definitely did not touch the ball. Once again, I apologize for the question, but it struck me as odd. I could not find any such information via a google search. Thanks. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			So is it an own goal by the keeper when a shot is taken and he dives to make the save but it deflects off his hands and into the net?
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			No, but in the OP, until the ball was touched by the keeper, it could not have resulted in a score.
		 
				__________________ I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Ok, let's take it one step further................if an indirect kick is taken and it deflects off the keeper's hands into the goal, is it an own goal?
		 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Scoring Question | voicedata | Softball | 35 | Wed Apr 29, 2009 09:57am | 
| Scoring Question | dino14 | Baseball | 8 | Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:37pm | 
| Scoring question | Clyde | Baseball | 4 | Tue May 10, 2005 07:52pm | 
| scoring question | hunter57 | Baseball | 7 | Mon Mar 15, 2004 02:38pm | 
| Scoring Question | harmbu | Baseball | 2 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 01:19pm |