The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
The Rule Book states . . .

The originally stated query alludes to Rule 12.2 Situation C - and the contact that occurs is ruled as being 'illegal' - that is, deliberate handling has occurred.

However, if you read the definition of 'handling' (at Rule 18.1.1.q), it states that an infraction may only be called if the hand moves 'TOWARD (my emphasis) the ball', or 'carried in an unnatural position'. I believe this description is erroneous and ambiguous. Clearly, 'deliberate handling' may occur WITHOUT the hand (or arm) moving TOWARD the ball. An arm in a natural postion, left there such that the ball strikes it, is an infraction. In reading Rule 12.2 Situation C, the wording states 'the ball touches his/her hand'. It does NOT say he/she moves his/her hand toward the ball. Additionally. I would contend that the movement of the hand to protect the stated sensitive areas does NOT constitute the hand being in an unnatural position! In fact, is in VERY natural for it to be placed there!

OK - all that definition stuff aside, Rule 12 clearly intends that in the described situation (12.2.C), a handling onfrcation shall be called. While this is contrary to the guidance provided by USSF, this is an NFHS contest and THEIR rules must be applied - whether we like it or not, whether it 'makes sense' or not.

The players and coaches who may be involved with USSF for the vast majority of their soccer careers may (dare I say 'will') object if I call 'handling', but will have to be satisfied (or possibly suffer consequences under 12.8.1.c) that the written rule for this NFHS game was correctly applied. You can be sure that the opposing (aggrieved) coach will want it that way! You can also be sure that same player and coach will find that in their next USSF game that I will officiate, I will NOT call 'handling' - unless that hand/arm directs the ball or is placed in that position in other than a quick reflexive motion. If that USSF player can turn, duck or otherwise get out harm's way, that's the option they'd best select; else they too may be penalized as would the NFHS player.

When in Rome, do . . . especially when the Romans are paying you!

Last edited by OldTimer; Thu Feb 28, 2008 at 08:21pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hand part of the ball? u2_i2_9 Basketball 21 Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:26pm
Hand part of the ball mplagrow Basketball 4 Sun May 01, 2005 07:46pm
The hand is part of the ball... abode Basketball 6 Sat Nov 20, 2004 04:11pm
When is the hand part of the ball? Honest Bill Basketball 13 Tue Jan 14, 2003 01:18pm
Hand in contact with ball gsilvest Basketball 4 Wed Nov 28, 2001 07:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1