The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Aug 30, 2007, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member

Hello everyone.

I am brand new to soccer. I will be doing games starting at the beginning of this October through the end of November. It is a rec league. I will be working with the Athletic Director. This is really a test for me to see if I want to do this on a regular basis. I was lent an NFHS rule book to read but he says this is a really relaxed league. He says that the hardest part will probably be calling off sides and the applying the appropriate penalty. I read the rule book and have to agree. I will be reading it many more times before the season starts.

Given that I have a short amount of time are there any particular tips, tricks, suggestions, etc. I should concentrate on before starting?

BTW I have been a softball umpire for 23 years but I don't think that's going to help much.

Thanks in advance for any and all help.
Old Thu Aug 30, 2007, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member

http://www.nfhs.org/cgi-bin/ultimate...ubb=forum;f=14
Old Thu Aug 30, 2007, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member

Thanks for the link Nevadaref. I hadn't thought about going to the NFHS Soccer Forum. The games I will be doing will be mostly younger than high school players. Although I was lent an NFHS rule book it is the 2002-03 Rule Book. I plan on getting the 2006-07 or the 2007-08 Rule Book before the season starts. My guess is that the league rules are loosely based on the NFHS rule set. I will get that straight before the season starts.

Now for a dumb question. Are hats a no no for soccer refs? I've never seen one wear one.
Old Sat Sep 01, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member

Yes you may wear a hat. Use a completely black one (no stripes or advertisements ect..) When my eyes are facing the sun or rain is pelting down I will use one, otherwise it just holds in your body heat.
Old Sat Sep 01, 2007, 10:08am
Official Forum Member