| Forum: Basketball  Tue Jun 25, 2024, 07:14am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 3
		 
			Views: 3,075
		 
			
				
				The ball was actually already gathered on the...
 The ball was actually already gathered on the left foot. Then he took a step with his right foot and hopped off. I can understand if my partner not seeing his other hand touching the ball for a step....
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Mon Jun 24, 2024, 03:38pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 3
		 
			Views: 3,075
		 
			
				
				NFHS: Travel or not?
 https://www.facebook.com/share/r/qoCTx6nskMDPvv2u/
 
 I'm FIBA certified and having a discussion with an NFHS referee. I'm pretty sure our rules regarding hopping on the same foot is aligned.  But he...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue Feb 20, 2024, 07:14pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 4
		 
			Views: 2,265
		 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue May 10, 2022, 12:38pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 6
		 
			Views: 1,159
		 
			
				
				I agree that a PF could've been call.  But I...
 I agree that a PF could've been call.  But I disagree on the no call on the jump ball as it fits every check listed on FIBA.  I can understand if the word "wrestle" under Federation Rule can be...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue May 10, 2022, 11:01am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 6
		 
			Views: 1,159
		 
			
				
				Thanks and I agree.  
  
"12.1.2 A held ball...
 Thanks and I agree.
 
 "12.1.2 A held ball occurs when one or more players from opposing teams have one or both
 hands firmly on the ball so that neither player can gain control without undue...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue May 10, 2022, 10:12am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 6
		 
			Views: 1,159
		 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Wed Mar 04, 2020, 08:33am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 57
		 
			Views: 8,237
		 
			
				
				I cannot find another case which describes a...
 I cannot find another case which describes a deflection.  But we have always allowed a new dribble after a deflection with a deflection signal.  I agree with you that both cases are not exactly the...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Wed Mar 04, 2020, 08:23am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 57
		 
			Views: 8,237
		 
			
				
				And FIBA:  
  
24-1 Statement. If a player...
 And FIBA:
 
 24-1 Statement. If a player deliberately throws the ball against a backboard (not attempting a legitimate shot for a field goal), this shall not be considered as a dribble.  :D
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue Mar 03, 2020, 02:03pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 57
		 
			Views: 8,237
		 
			
				
				Thanks BillyMac.  Yes FIBA.  
 ...
 Thanks BillyMac.  Yes FIBA.
 
 https://www.fiba.basketball/rules/interpretations.pdf
 
 Guess I learned another different interpretation between FIBA and Federation.
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue Mar 03, 2020, 08:16am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 57
		 
			Views: 8,237
		 
			
				
				Found this:  
  
24-7   
  
Example: A1 ends his...
 Found this:
 
 24-7
 
 Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.
 
 Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Mon Mar 02, 2020, 06:12pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 57
		 
			Views: 8,237
		 
			
				
				A little off topic, but would like a...
 A little off topic, but would like a confirmation. If A1 has ended dribble with both hands. Throws ball at opponents foot intentionally and recovers the ball after contact on B2. Can A1 still...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Tue Jan 29, 2019, 11:20am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 10
		 
			Views: 1,179
		 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Mon Jan 28, 2019, 02:48pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 10
		 
			Views: 1,179
		 
			
				
				Looking for tips on block/charge...
 Had a game where there were a good number of 50/50 calls, looking for some tips on how you decide on those tough ones.
 
 What I look for: (Other than the ones from the rule book, defender in his...
 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Wed Jan 23, 2019, 01:47pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 7
		 
			Views: 3,978
		 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Wed Jan 23, 2019, 01:34pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 7
		 
			Views: 3,978
		 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Wed Jan 23, 2019, 01:32pm | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 7
		 
			Views: 3,978
		 | 
	| Forum: Basketball  Wed Jan 23, 2019, 11:58am | 
	
	| 
			Replies: 7
		 
			Views: 3,978
		 
			
				
				4 Steps layup legal or not?
 Post 2017 FIBA, most of us have accepted the gather plus 2 steps.  Watch this video with a delayed step zero, what is your take?
 
 A few rules that may help you decide:
 
 24.1.2 A  A dribble ends...
 |