The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Search Forums
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Showing results 1 to 25 of 34
Search took 0.00 seconds.
Search: Posts Made By: IamKip
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 27, 2008, 12:03am
Replies: 1
Views: 1,349
Posted By IamKip
Post NCAA women's rule ?

Timeout for substitution... Can only the players at table come in when this is called or can additional players from bench now also come in? Rule or case where this is found please... Thanks

IamKIP
Forum: Basketball Mon Oct 22, 2007, 09:07am
Replies: 11
Views: 1,785
Posted By IamKip
Bob thanks.

Just confirming the rule.. So both the throw in and jumpball end on the tip and are backcourt in my expamples. This is different form last year correct?

IamKip
Forum: Basketball Mon Oct 22, 2007, 08:10am
Replies: 11
Views: 1,785
Posted By IamKip
Still not understanding

In both situations team control is establishd at the same time with the offensive player in the air, why differentiate between the two?

Are we saying of a jumpball if B2 tipped and tehn A1 caught...
Forum: Basketball Mon Oct 22, 2007, 07:08am
Replies: 11
Views: 1,785
Posted By IamKip
Post Back court on throw in?

With the new throw in rule this year the way I am reading it, how does it affect back court?

A throw in by A1 at midcourt tipped by B1 and then caught by A2 in midair who has jumped from the front...
Forum: Basketball Mon Oct 22, 2007, 06:55am
Replies: 22
Views: 2,339
Posted By IamKip
Thanks to all

To all, even the sarcastic ones.. :) .. I am with you now. I did not realize those changes had been made and I am looking at the new book now... Thanks to all I very much appreciate your help. I have...
Forum: Basketball Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:16pm
Replies: 22
Views: 2,339
Posted By IamKip
In some cases it is the best place to be.

so if hit the ball is out of bounds...
Forum: Basketball Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:16pm
Replies: 22
Views: 2,339
Posted By IamKip
#2 incorrect

Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...

The other by rule are correct

Iamkip :D
Forum: Basketball Sun Oct 21, 2007, 05:43pm
Replies: 22
Views: 2,339
Posted By IamKip
Close...

Why do you say #2 & #5 are spot where A2 touched the ball? Do you have a rule/case reference?

Iamkip :D
Forum: Basketball Sun Oct 21, 2007, 05:33pm
Replies: 22
Views: 2,339
Posted By IamKip
Post Location of designated spot throw in for B1?

Here is a question to all. Let see how many of you can get this one correct. I was surprised by the answers. Where does B1 bring the ball in at?

1.) A1 endline throw-in ball goes out of bounds mid...
Forum: Basketball Thu Feb 01, 2007, 08:23am
Replies: 85
Views: 9,404
Posted By IamKip
Love my running shoes Nike Cog Shox

I swear by them. Light and very comfortable....
Forum: Basketball Mon Jan 29, 2007, 11:23am
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Possibly..

What is your definition of comes to rest? How long? A rebound that turns into a 6 inch tap running down the court would be a violation. A rebound that is clearly being batted would not. It would be...
Forum: Basketball Mon Jan 29, 2007, 10:57am
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Question Why?

PLease try and explain why you are allowing this?

Second if you allow this because they are not holding per how you interpret the holding definition rule then you would also call the below.

1.)...
Forum: Basketball Mon Jan 29, 2007, 10:04am
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Wink Near the end!

Since it appears you and I are the opnly ones that care about this post anymore.:) I will try to bring closure... While the original post is near impossible and the two examples I give below are...
Forum: Basketball Mon Jan 29, 2007, 09:03am
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Smile Yes

If in my judgment the player has control of the ball...Illegal dribble.. If the ball is in hand for split second it has come to rest for that split second. Even if player uses one hand they can not...
Forum: Basketball Mon Jan 29, 2007, 07:54am
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Thumbs up Yes I would have a violation..

If the player tossed the ball left to right hand all the way down the court based on my correction to NevadaRef I would have an illegal dribble. The player would be in control of the ball.

The...
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 10:23pm
Replies: 10
Views: 1,558
Posted By IamKip
Sounds like a charge!!

Sounds like you had the best look then!
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 10:16pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Smile We can only dream!!!!

The stir sometimes I hear in the gym next to the middle school gym is unnerving sometimes. All those cars and a Pep band to boot. Too intense for me...:D

Maybe one day. We have to grow up...
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 10:12pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
I agree

Tossing from left to right hand the ball does come to rest for a split second in each hand...:p I can't seem to find a length of time it must be at rest in the rule book?:confused:

Lets see the...
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 10:07pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Cool I am with you there!

Those packed middle school gyms get wild! The only problem is being a 2 person crew, but the 6 minute quarters are great!!!:D
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 09:52pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
More amusement

Just for SAG please explain what your definition of holding is and why it must be the correct version?

I think Webster is generally considered an expert of definitions and his definition is...
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 09:49pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Amusing!

1.It is at rest spinning on his hand


2.Nope still illegal, as long as it is in control

What level of basketball do you call just for SAG?
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 09:47pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
I stand corrected. I read a different case play....

I stand corrected. I read a different case play. Illegal dribble I am with you.:)
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 07:49pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Thumbs up You are the man!!!

But he is holding it and it would be traveling. But a great example of a player in control of the ball... I would give you another cookie but it is late and I ate it....;)
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 07:46pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Refer to Nevadaref response

No need to reinvent the wheel. My response to Nevadref answers your questions.... As far as what distance it would vary. It would be judgement. As far as what rule. The same rule you are using. How...
Forum: Basketball Sun Jan 28, 2007, 07:31pm
Replies: 62
Views: 4,975
Posted By IamKip
Back at ya....

1.) It is not in NFHS other than what you say. They use the term holding. You are using it literally and are assuming NFHS is. Holding by Webster is; includes to keep away, to not let escape, to get...
Showing results 1 to 25 of 34

 
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1