The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Hockey

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:55pm
Official Forum Member

Delayed call for bench minor?

Hockey officials -

I'm a basketball coach and former basketball official, but I have a hockey question. I've downloaded the NHL rule book, but the game I was watching where this came up was a youth game (no idea if there are different rules covering this.)

Simply: should the penalty call for a bench minor be delayed if the other team has the puck?

Specifically, team A allows too many men on the ice. The official notices the infraction while team B is on a breakaway. Does the official blow his whistle to stop play immediately, or does he delay the call (raised hand) until team A secures control?

Thanks!

Joe
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 06:21pm
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeT View Post
Hockey officials -

I'm a basketball coach and former basketball official, but I have a hockey question. I've downloaded the NHL rule book, but the game I was watching where this came up was a youth game (no idea if there are different rules covering this.)

Simply: should the penalty call for a bench minor be delayed if the other team has the puck?

Specifically, team A allows too many men on the ice. The official notices the infraction while team B is on a breakaway. Does the official blow his whistle to stop play immediately, or does he delay the call (raised hand) until team A secures control?

Thanks!

Joe
A bench minor is whistled at the same time as any other minor penalty in the NHL.

(I am not a hockey official, BTW, just a guy who watches a LOT of hockey on TV, so give my opinion the weight it deserves -- just above none.)
Old Thu Feb 19, 2009, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Skype™ to 7in60