The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 109
Hi,

Still being a newbie football ref. I'm not up on everything yet. I've been doing my homework but there is still one thing I haven't figured out yet, and that is what exactly is the "All but one" principle. I seen it referred to on our exam this year but I haven't been able to ascertain exactly when this is applied or what it means.

Can you vets help me out here?

Thanks!
__________________
Yo Lama....How about a little somethin' for the effort...
--Carl Spackler
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
All but one is a penalty enforcement procedure.

Goto http://www.footballrefs.com/articles.php

and look at the two articles about penalty enforcement.

These should help you understand.

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
You can also take a look at our association website and our All But One page. I think it does a pretty good job of explaining the priniciple.


http://www.saoa.faync.com/football/All%20But%20One.htm
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
You can also take a look at our association website and our All But One page. I think it does a pretty good job of explaining the priniciple.


http://www.saoa.faync.com/football/All%20But%20One.htm
I don't know if I fully agree with one statement made on your site (if only in semantics).

OTHER FOULS - Fouls that occur at the snap, dead ball fouls and other fouls that have special enforcement are not covered by the ABO principle.

Why do you state that fouls simultaneously with the snap are not covered by ABO?


__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
[/B][/QUOTE]

I don't know if I fully agree with one statement made on your site (if only in semantics).

OTHER FOULS - Fouls that occur at the snap, dead ball fouls and other fouls that have special enforcement are not covered by the ABO principle.

Why do you state that fouls simultaneously with the snap are not covered by ABO?


[/B][/QUOTE]I would think that because these fouls are always enforced from the previous spot. Lets say that the A Team has a Back in motion who is moving toward the LOS at the snap. This would be an A player fouling behind the basic spot. You wouldn't enforce this from the spot of the foul would you? Or lets say you see an A player in the backfield without his mouth guard when the play goes off. A then gains 5 yards on a running play. The BS is going to be the end of his run. So instead of using the “All But One” and enforcing from the spot of the foul, we go back to the PS for enforcement making this an exception to the “All But One”
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
10-6 ENFORCEMENT SPOTS, ALL-BUT-ONE PRINCIPLE
Unless otherwise listed in Section 4 and 5,....

10-4-2a
The basic spot is the previous spot:
For a foul which occurs simultaneously with the snap or free kick.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
I think we were disagreeing over semantics and my lack of knowledge of the specific wording of 10-6. I can see what you are saying after examing the rule closely.

If you didn't have such a strong argument, I might contend that a foul simultaneous with the snap is a spot foul because the player hasn't done anything wrong by his actions. The foul was caused because the ball was snapped and the SNAP is what made it illegal. The spot of the foul is the snap because the snap made the action illegal.

I know I'm reaching


Question is this then: If the NF test has a question like, "An illegal formation is a foul simultaneous with the snap and the foul is administered under the all-but-one principle", how would you answer this? (And wasn't something like this on the test this year? If so, what was the correct answer?)










Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Question is this then: If the NF test has a question like, "An illegal formation is a foul simultaneous with the snap and the foul is administered under the all-but-one principle", how would you answer this? (And wasn't something like this on the test this year? If so, what was the correct answer?)
REPLY: Mike...please don't give the Fed any ideas. They do OK on their own putting inane, poorly worded questions on their tests!
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 109
Thank you guys!! This has definitely cleared up much of the mystery of the "all but one" syndrome!!

I appreciate your assistance a GREAT deal!
__________________
Yo Lama....How about a little somethin' for the effort...
--Carl Spackler
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2003, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Question is this then: If the NF test has a question like, "An illegal formation is a foul simultaneous with the snap and the foul is administered under the all-but-one principle", how would you answer this? (And wasn't something like this on the test this year? If so, what was the correct answer?)
REPLY: Mike...please don't give the Fed any ideas. They do OK on their own putting inane, poorly worded questions on their tests!
ROTFLMAO
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2003, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Question is this then: If the NF test has a question like, "An illegal formation is a foul simultaneous with the snap and the foul is administered under the all-but-one principle", how would you answer this? (And wasn't something like this on the test this year? If so, what was the correct answer?
False.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1