![]() |
|
|||
|
but if he is clearly not trying to block you and trying to run his route, he is no longer a potential blocker according to the Case Book 9.2.3 sit a
BLOCKING – USE OF HANDS 9.2.3 SITUATION A: End A1 sprints from the line and then cuts sharply toward the middle of the field. A1 makes no attempt to block defensive back B1. B1 pursues A1 and pushes him from the side using his open hands. Contact is made on A1’s upper arm before the pass is thrown. A1 was moving away from B1 when the contact occurred. RULING: Illegal use of hands by B1. A defender may legally contact an eligible receiver beyond the neutral zone before the pass is in flight. The contact may be a block or warding off the opponent who is attempting to block by pushing or pulling him. However, if the receiver is not attempting to block or has gone past or is moving away, it is illegal for the defender to use hands in the manner described. In this situation, it is clear that A1 is no longer a potential blocker on B1. (2-3-5a; 7-5-7) Rut, just might happen, I have a guy begging me to be his umpire! I plan to get my credentials this summer.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight Last edited by bigjohn; Sat May 16, 2015 at 09:06pm. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Illegal Use of Hands | ballgame99 | Basketball | 28 | Fri Feb 15, 2013 08:51am |
| Illegal Use of the Hands | Suudy | Football | 16 | Fri Sep 01, 2006 01:02pm |
| DPI or Illegal use of the hands? | Suudy | Football | 4 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 07:08am |
| Illegal Use of the Hands | Suudy | Football | 16 | Sat Oct 01, 2005 01:00pm |
| Illegal use of hands or nothing? | Newbie Scott | Football | 3 | Thu Sep 04, 2003 05:25pm |