Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref1973
NFHS:
K 4/10 from the 50. K's punt is high and short. R21 muffs the kick at the R45. The kick bounds behind the line of scrimmage where K30 possessed the kick, then punts it from the K47. The kick is possessed by K44 at the R1 yard line.
B intercepts a pass at the B4 yard line where his momentum carries him into the end zone. There he fumbles the ball out to the B2 yard line where B30 recovers and is downed. While the ball was loose after the fumble, B88 holds at the B23 yard line.
|
Play 1 ... Since K recovered the Kick behind the LOS, K may run, pass or legally kick the ball. If K would have maintained possession, they would have a new series because R touched the ball beyond the LOS. Shame on K because when he legally kicked the ball the second time, the "kicking rules" started all over. Result of the Play = 1st & 10 for R at the R1 yard line.
Play 2 ... Momentum is off because the ball did not become dead in B's EZ with B in possession. That leaves us with a running play and the EOR is in the EZ ... Enforce the foul from the EOR = Safety