![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I would make sure my crew reviews 2-17-1 through 5 very careully in pre-game.
As mentioned previously, chop blocks are always illegal, no matter where they occur. You have to determine if the TE is in the free blocking zone. Don't get hung up on splits. If he's got part of his body in the zone, he's in it. In NC our ruling is there can be no delay. If he's in a 3 or 4 point stance and is the initial charge, the block is considered legal. If he drops down from a 2 point stance, that is considered not an initial charge and thus would be a delay and illegal contact. |
|
|||
|
To simplify, get the phrase "initial charge" into your mind. Although there can be some exceptions, if there's any delay involved the ball has likely left the FBZ.
The most common foul we see around here is a tackle in a 2-pt stance who steps back and then "cut" blocks. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Art 2 (Cut Block) It only requires you to be on the line of scrimmage. Both 3 (Clipping) & 4 (Block in the Back) require you to be an Offensive Linemen. I guess what I am curious about is the TE an Offensive Linemen for Article 3 & 4
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
|
Yes, the TE is considered a lineman... check 2-32-9.
However, just because he's a lineman doesn't mean he's in the free-blocking zone, he still needs to have at least some part of his body within 4 yards of the ball at the snap. Possible with tight splits, I suppose. One quick way to check... assuming that the field is marked correctly and the goalposts are correctly sized and aligned, there should be 15 feet (ie: 5-yards, outside of the free-blocking zone) horizontally between the inside of the hash mark and the nearest goal post upright. So, when the team lines up in their tight split formation when snapping from the hash, this can give you a quick reference point to help determine if the TE is in the free-blocking zone or not. Also, since the goal posts are 23'4" wide... (just under 8 yards)... if you snap from the middle of the field the low-blocking zone is slightly wider than the goalposts. Last edited by jTheUmp; Thu Sep 04, 2014 at 12:17pm. Reason: added field dimension rules-of-thumb. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks for the visual guides that will help.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
|
We had a coach bring his linemen to our pre-game meeting to demonstrate their tights splits and allow us to verify the TE was in the zone. He was easily in so I know it's possible. But they were tight!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, the block must be in the FBZ. Finally, offensive linemen are allowed to clip and block in the back in the FBZ. If the TE's little toe is in the FBZ, then the TE is in the FBZ. So yes, it sounds like the clipping flag should have been waved off. |
|
|||
|
Then I think you're seeing so many offense systems where the ball is snapped out of the free blocking zone, you're assuming it!
In the usual type of double wing system where this sort of play is done, the snap is handed, not passed. It is possible in some cases that it would then be tossed to another back outside of the FBZ, but usually he's inside it, and in other cases the ball would be handed to another back who's definitely inside the FBZ. So I don't think the "no delay" consider'n applies to most of these cases. Quote:
Last edited by Robert Goodman; Thu Sep 04, 2014 at 12:03pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
We're not assuming anything. We're officiating the play the way we've been told to officiate it by the state association. Nothing else matters. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Single wing | Rich | Football | 21 | Sat Oct 30, 2010 03:44pm |
| Procedure after Blocking Foul and then Double Technical | MajorCord | Basketball | 15 | Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:31pm |
| Wing Mechanics | OverAndBack | Football | 12 | Tue Sep 26, 2006 09:09am |
| Wing officials | tpaul | Football | 16 | Fri Nov 25, 2005 08:48pm |
| Working a Wing | YellowFlag | Football | 8 | Fri Sep 09, 2005 10:20am |