The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 23, 2003, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by nvfoa15
Ok. A player who is airborne is neither inbounds nor out of bounds until he contacts ground/player etc.! Thus no ruling can be made utill he does so?
That's not entirely true. If we go back to the original play, the A player is running OOB, jumps, tips the ball, and the ball is caught in bounds by a teammate. In this situation it does not matter where he lands, the ball remains live and it is an IP foul. Note that in the case book play they do not specify whether he lands in bounds or OOB on the tip play--it therefore is not relevent to the ruling. If he actually catches the ball, then where he first contacts the ground becomes important (in bounds: IP foul; OOB: incomplete pass, no foul).
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1