The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   not out of bounds??? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/9793-not-out-bounds.html)

cmathews Thu Aug 21, 2003 09:36am

casebook 9.6.1 wide receiver A1 runs a pass route along the sideline. He takes two steps out of bounds and goes airborne. While in the air he: (a) bats the ball to A2 who cates the ball; or(b) catches the ball and landes inbounds..... ruling in A and b the ball remains live and the catch is legal?? Isn't A1 out of bounds thus making the ball out of bounds?? if not help me see the light...LOL in either case it is illegal participation, but I am of the mind that the ball became dead when it touched a player who was out of bounds...if he isn't a player he is an object who is out of bounds??

Schultj Thu Aug 21, 2003 09:43am

The CATCH is legal, but there is still a penalty for illegal participation in both cases. For a catch to be legal and live, the receiver must not be touching OOB when touching the ball (dead ball then), possession must be gained, and one foot in bounds. Again, the CATCH is legal, but there will still be a penalty on the play for IP. I like to bean bag the spot whenever a receiver goes OOB on a play. Do other wings to this?

cmathews Thu Aug 21, 2003 10:12am

I completely understand the Illegal Participation...I guess it is basketball officiating that is getting me here. To me when he goes OOB until he steps back in he is OOB and thus the ball is OOB, just kind of a weird way to look at it in my opinion that he is not OOB..

BktBallRef Thu Aug 21, 2003 10:26am

Yes, basketball officiating is getting to you. In basketball, the ball and the player would be OOB. Not so in football. In this play, the WR is not OOB because he is not touching OOB when he touches the ball. Can't apply bball principles here.

2-28-1
A player or other person is out of bounds when any part of the person is touching anything, other than another player or game official, who is on or outside the sideline or end line.

Warrenkicker Thu Aug 21, 2003 10:31am

Yes football and basketball are opposite on OOB. However Schultj I am wondering why you bag the spot where they go OOB? That is never the spot of a foul. The foul for IP is where they come back IB.

BktBallRef Thu Aug 21, 2003 11:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Schultj
The CATCH is legal, but there is still a penalty for illegal participation in both cases. For a catch to be legal and live, the receiver must not be touching OOB when touching the ball (dead ball then), possession must be gained, and one foot in bounds. Again, the CATCH is legal, but there will still be a penalty on the play for IP. I like to bean bag the spot whenever a receiver goes OOB on a play. Do other wings to this?
No. No reason to.

chayos Thu Aug 21, 2003 12:17pm

Warren

I agree with your assessment....no need to bag the player going out. Drop the flag when he returns....

Theisey Thu Aug 21, 2003 12:29pm

You should drop a bag unless hit was a bang bang type situation. The bag says you saw the player go OOB on his own.
New to NCAA this season will be to drop our hat instead. Seems to me that players never go OOB on their own on dry days either!

ump76 Thu Aug 21, 2003 02:34pm

So in all reality if it were a 40 yard pass down field,
A1 could tip the ball into A2 andthe pass is complete for
a 40 yard gain........And then the 15 yard penalty is
enforced. So the result of the play is a 25 yard gain.
Is this correct.

AndrewMcCarthy Thu Aug 21, 2003 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ump76
So in all reality if it were a 40 yard pass down field,
A1 could tip the ball into A2 andthe pass is complete for
a 40 yard gain........And then the 15 yard penalty is
enforced. So the result of the play is a 25 yard gain.
Is this correct.

Hint... What kind of play is this and what is the enforcement spot?

chayos Thu Aug 21, 2003 05:59pm

Loose ball play.....where is it enforced from??

cowbyfan1 Fri Aug 22, 2003 06:46am

let me guess!!!
 
Maybe the previous spot????

nvfoa15 Fri Aug 22, 2003 09:27am

Casebook 9.6.1 a: If A1 never returns to the field of play do you have IP?

chayos Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:26am

nvfoa15


If he never returns to the field of play you don't have IP but as soon as the ball is touched by a player out of bounds the pass is incomplete.

cmathews Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:35am

yes you do have IP he never returns to the field in situation A above, but he tipped the ball thus participating illegalling in the play...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1