View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 23, 2003, 09:33am
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by nvfoa15
Ok. A player who is airborne is neither inbounds nor out of bounds until he contacts ground/player etc.! Thus no ruling can be made utill he does so?
That's not entirely true. If we go back to the original play, the A player is running OOB, jumps, tips the ball, and the ball is caught in bounds by a teammate. In this situation it does not matter where he lands, the ball remains live and it is an IP foul. Note that in the case book play they do not specify whether he lands in bounds or OOB on the tip play--it therefore is not relevent to the ruling. If he actually catches the ball, then where he first contacts the ground becomes important (in bounds: IP foul; OOB: incomplete pass, no foul).
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote