![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Example: A has the ball first and 10 on their own 20 yard line. While A12 drops back to throw a pass, A 77 holds B 85 with A12 is attempting to pass the ball. A12 throws a forward pass and it is intercepted by B35, who runs for a touchdown. Now if you look at 8-2-2 says, "If during a TD-scoring play, a foul by the opponents of the scoring team occurs, the scoring team may accept the result of the play and have the penalty enforced from the succeeding spot." If you look at the front of this year's rulebook, they say under Rules Changes for 2003, they say, "If during a TD, a foul by the defense occurs, the scoring team may accept the result of the play and have the penalty enforced from the succeeding spot." Every year the NF does something like this when they chance the language of the rules or add something to a rule (in all sports it seems). Usually it is a mistake they do not change in the Casebook. It is clear that someone did not read both places in their Rulebook to clarify the correct interpretation. And if you read the Handbook, Rulebook, Casebook, NF/NASO Pre-Season Guide and sometimes the Official's Manual, you can find a different interpretation of something in each place. Hell we even had a debate about Intentional Grounding, and there was an interpretation in the Handbook that was not in the Rulebook or Casebook. So I can forgive Referee for a mistake, especially when the NF and NCAA cannot even get it right about their own rules. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
| Bookmarks |
|
|