Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
The rule in the front of the book is not contradicting itself. Rule 2-42-1. "The offense is the team which is in possession of the ball. The Opponent is the defense." So by this rule the front of the book is exactly right. The offense scored and the foul was on the defense. Now the contradiction comes with 2-42-4 that says "team designations remain the same until the ball is next declared ready for play." So it is really rule 2 that does the contradicting.
|
Jim, you're reading it incorrectly. When it says team designatiosn don't change, it means that A and B and R and K don't change. When a turnover occurs, the team with the ball is always on offense.
The rule change in the front of the book is how the editorial committee approved the rule. But when it was written into the rule book, some knucklehead screwed it up. That's directly from Mr. Diehl. A foul that occurs prior to the turnover must be declined to keep the score.
[Edited by BktBallRef on Aug 21st, 2003 at 10:23 AM]