The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
The Holder (NCAA)

Quirky question. The rule book and Redding tell us it is ok to take or bat the ball from the holder. My question is when is the holder down? Since he is down by the normal definition, what do we need to do to make him down (assuming the requirements of the exception are otherwise met). Will simply touching him make him down? If so, it would be very difficult to get the ball from him without touching him. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2014, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,817
If he's so held that his progress is stopped, he's down. Touching doesn't do that.

I think if an opponent got between the ball and the ostensible kicker-to-be, that would kill the ball too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAT Holder LeRoy Football 10 Mon Sep 02, 2013 07:06pm
The Holder Mr Chan Football 6 Sun Jan 29, 2012 03:57pm
Kill the Holder! parepat Football 13 Thu Dec 13, 2007 07:53pm
NCAA rules question, Re: Holder ChickenOfNC Football 2 Wed Nov 29, 2006 09:12am
NCAA Ruling on Holder cougar729 Football 1 Sun Oct 16, 2005 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1