The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2014, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
I'm not sure I understand, Are you suggesting; a player could leap, from a position in-bounds, to out of-bounds, secure possession of a ball in flight and land as far out of-bounds as possible, and complete a catch? Wouldn't that change the entire perspective of sideline passing?
No doubt it would be a substantive change. I'm just wondering how officials would feel about the difficulty of ruling on it that way vs. the way it is now.

Quote:
As it stands now, a player touching OOB is considered OOB and subsequent touching of a live ball by that OOB player, kills the ball, so if he completes a catch, he has caught a dead ball.
Not in Fed, if "subsequent" includes jumping off the ground -- unless they changed that and I didn't notice. There was a lot of discussion about that one here.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 17, 2014, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
No doubt it would be a substantive change.
Not in Fed, if "subsequent" includes jumping off the ground -- unless they changed that and I didn't notice. There was a lot of discussion about that one here.
Wasn't that, rather obvious, notion thoroughly discredited during that extensive discussion. That horse was killed and converted into glue and shouldn't be expected to race ever again.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2014, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Wasn't that, rather obvious, notion thoroughly discredited during that extensive discussion. That horse was killed and converted into glue and shouldn't be expected to race ever again.
Unfortunately the horse is still standing on one leg since the rule change a couple years ago only addressed the situation when a player INTENTIONALLY goes out of bounds. If he accidentally steps out, taps or "catches" the ball and throws is backward to a teammate, it's still a legal play. I know you say incomplete based on your own common sense, but that is not supported by rule. The rule change submitted intended to address this situation as well, but I understand that portion was removed because it created another issue. I'm surprised it hasn't resurfaced again. I'm guessing because it's such a rare instance that it isn't a big issue in actual game situations.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aleternating Possession Rule/Question MOofficial Basketball 16 Sun Jan 09, 2011 08:42am
Rule Question: Lost Possession while in air RangeGunner Basketball 5 Wed Apr 02, 2008 04:52pm
Over and Back - Please help on this hard to find rule justjames Basketball 14 Wed Jan 10, 2007 12:01pm
alternating possession rule-seems quirky blewthat Basketball 15 Sat Dec 24, 2005 09:58am
How would you rule on batting out of Order?? nzumpire Softball 17 Sat Apr 09, 2005 05:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1