The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 05:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
This scenario was posed as part of the NZ Rule exam. I am curious to see how you would have answered.

Batting line up is B1, B2, B3 etc. In the bottom of the seventh innings, with the game score tied up, B5 hits safely. B6 hits into a double play (B5 is played out at second and B6 is played out at first), for two outs. Neither batter 7 nor batter 8 have been batting very well in the game so the coach elects to bat B9 in place of the correct batter.

B9 is subsequently struck out for the third out of the innings. Before the defence leave the infield the coach appeals for B9 batting out of order.


Would you as the plate umpire allow the appeal?

If so, who is the third out of the innings?, If not – why not?

Who is the first batter for the next innings?

And who is the runner that starts at second base for the tie-breaker innings?

New Zealand uses ISF rules which for the most part align with your ASA.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 06:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally posted by nzumpire
This scenario was posed as part of the NZ Rule exam. I am curious to see how you would have answered.

Batting line up is B1, B2, B3 etc. In the bottom of the seventh innings, with the game score tied up, B5 hits safely. B6 hits into a double play (B5 is played out at second and B6 is played out at first), for two outs. Neither batter 7 nor batter 8 have been batting very well in the game so the coach elects to bat B9 in place of the correct batter.

B9 is subsequently struck out for the third out of the innings. Before the defence leave the infield the coach appeals for B9 batting out of order.


Would you as the plate umpire allow the appeal?

If so, who is the third out of the innings?, If not – why not?

Who is the first batter for the next innings?

And who is the runner that starts at second base for the tie-breaker innings?

New Zealand uses ISF rules which for the most part align with your ASA.
Allow the appeal,
which has B7 out for batting out of order.
B8 is the lead off hitter for the next inning
and B7 is placed at second for the international tie breaker.

[Edited by scottk_61 on Apr 6th, 2005 at 07:16 AM]
__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 06:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
Since we never want to take an out off the books allow all.
B10 or B1 is 1st batter next inning, & B9 goes to 2nd.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 178
Send a message via AIM to buddha69
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Since we never want to take an out off the books allow all.
B10 or B1 is 1st batter next inning, & B9 goes to 2nd.
I believe I am with Chuch on this. This weekend i our State Clinic. We had Henry Pollard here. He gave an example of this play.


Am I right on this Jel?
__________________
Ed
ASA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by nzumpire
This scenario was posed as part of the NZ Rule exam. I am curious to see how you would have answered.

Batting line up is B1, B2, B3 etc. In the bottom of the seventh innings, with the game score tied up, B5 hits safely. B6 hits into a double play (B5 is played out at second and B6 is played out at first), for two outs. Neither batter 7 nor batter 8 have been batting very well in the game so the coach elects to bat B9 in place of the correct batter.

B9 is subsequently struck out for the third out of the innings. Before the defence leave the infield the coach appeals for B9 batting out of order.


Would you as the plate umpire allow the appeal?
Absolutely
Quote:

If so, who is the third out of the innings?, If not – why not?
B7
Quote:

Who is the first batter for the next innings?
B8
Quote:

And who is the runner that starts at second base for the tie-breaker innings?
B7

[b][quote]

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Since we never want to take an out off the books allow all.
B10 or B1 is 1st batter next inning, & B9 goes to 2nd.
How do you figure? B7 is going to be declared out, the inning is still over.

By allowing B9 to be the last out, you have rewarded the team which intentionally violated the rules.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 09:02am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally posted by buddha69
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Since we never want to take an out off the books allow all.
B10 or B1 is 1st batter next inning, & B9 goes to 2nd.
I believe I am with Chuch on this. This weekend i our State Clinic. We had Henry Pollard here. He gave an example of this play.


Am I right on this Jel?
The play Henry gave had the defense appealing the next half inning as I recall. Because they had left the field prior to making the appeal they lost the right to the appeal. If it were done this way, B9 would have been the last legal batter (legal due to no appeal in prior inning) making B10, (or B1 if batting 9) the next legal batter starting the eight inning, and B9 would start at 3B for the ITB.

This case has a proper appeal, Mike has the proper answer.

The coach took a gamble and lost.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 178
Send a message via AIM to buddha69
Okay, I was a little off. Thanks Jel!

Not to high jack this thread and all but,

Did you enjoy the clinic?
__________________
Ed
ASA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 09:16am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally posted by buddha69
Okay, I was a little off. Thanks Jel!

Not to high jack this thread and all but,

Did you enjoy the clinic?
Oh Yeah, it was fun.

Anytime I can sit and discuss softball AND eat all the donuts I want, it's cool!

We had 2 new guys there, (one was a girl though) and even though we didn't get a chance to do any on field work, the rules sessions and mingling with other umpires really helped them as well. One remarked to me later, "Boy, I have a lot to learn". Don't we all!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Since we never want to take an out off the books allow all.
B10 or B1 is 1st batter next inning, & B9 goes to 2nd.
Huh?
No out taken..........
Oh I see, Mike has addressed this already.

Man, Chuck, you must not have been awake this morning when you answered this one.

Lets make this one a mulligan.
__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
mmmm so you can have a 4th out not to remove a run??



Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
More info needed

NZ,
could you explain a little more...I even sent your question out to a Kiwi (Mark Anderton) and he couldn't tell me...I think what you are asking is you would recognize a fourth out - which might prevent a run from scoring - but wanted to be sure that's what you were asking about.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
bkbjones - more info reqd

We have three outs already.
The double play on B5 & B6. And also the strikeout on B9.

Yet I am reading umpires giving an out on B7 for failing to bat also.

That's 4 outs.

I am only aware of accepting an appeal for an additional out to remove a run - yet no run has scored in this scenario.



[Edited by nzumpire on Apr 6th, 2005 at 09:43 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2005, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Re: bkbjones - more info reqd

Quote:
Originally posted by nzumpire
We have three outs already.
The double play on B5 & B6. And also the strikeout on B9.

Yet I am reading umpires giving an out on B7 for failing to bat also.

That's 4 outs.

I am only aware of accepting an appeal for an additional out to remove a run - yet no run has scored in this scenario.
[Edited by nzumpire on Apr 6th, 2005 at 09:43 PM]
Yes, but if the team which obviously cheated would possibly benefit by avoiding part of their batting order that, demonstrated by their own actions, was not doing that well for the game.

You can look at this play two ways.

ISF 10.1.n instructs an umpire not to apply a ruling which would benefit the offending team.

Or, as a matter of rule(ISF 7.2.c&d, ASA 7.2.C), the defense took full advantage of the appeal process afforded them to appeal when the offense bats out of order.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 02:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
ISF Rule 7 Sec 2d Effect 2b states:

" ... Any out that is mnade prior to discovering this infraction, remains out."

Hence the out on B9 stays - He is the 3rd out of the innings.

Further, ISF Rule 8 Sec 9j Effect 4 states:

"Additional out appeals can be made after the third out as long as it is made properly and are made to remove a run."

There is no run being removed here, so it is not applicable to accepting the appeal.

In our game, it is not only the players but also the coaches who are getting smarter.

In this scenario, the defence coach realised batting out of order was the play. He too took a chance that B9 would not be out, prior to the appeal. Undoubtedly if B9 had hit the ball over the fence, the appeal would have disallowed the runs and B7 would have been declared out (as many of you were quick to point out) and the tie-breaker would have seen B8 in the box with B7 on 2nd base.

To take the "easy" way out and quote R10 Sec 1n would not help you when the protest was lodged.

I'm sure you will debate this until the cows come home but, we kiwis are having to get as smart as our World Series winning coaches.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1