![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
And to answer your specific question, yes - if Indi had provided the force that put the ball out of the EZ, NE would have the ball at the 20. {Edited because I got the teams backward!}
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
What about the second scenario (ball is not at rest when the defense muffs it and it goes through the end zone?) |
|
|||
Quote:
Your second scenario, and the one you're asking about here would be a safety.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Why the different ruling if the defense never gained possession in either?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
A Touchback is the situation in which a ball is dead on or behind a team’s own goal line, provided the impetus came from an opponent and provided it is not a touchdown (11-6). In the second situation, since the ball is not at or nearly at rest, even though the defense muffs the ball and send it into touch (into the endzone), the offense is still responsible for the impetus of the ball. As such, it would be a safety. And a safety is defined as: A Safety is the situation in which the ball is dead on or behind a team’s own goal line provided: (a) the impetus (3-15-3) came from a player of that team; (b) it is not a touchdown (11-2).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() But I'm not, so thanks. ![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
A.R. 3.15 IMPETUS—BLOCKED PUNT—END ZONE Fourth-and-10 on A7. A’s punt is blocked by B1. B2 muffs the ball at the A10, and the ball rebounds into A’s end zone where: a) A2 falls on the ball; b) A3 and B3 simultaneously recover the ball; c) the ball rolls over the end line. Rulings: a) Safety. (3-15-3) b) Touchdown. (11-2-1, 3-15-3) c) Safety. (3-15-3, 11-5-1) NOTE: If A had recovered in the field of play, it would have been A’s ball, first-and-10.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
This is completely incorrect.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Colts-Jags block in back. | Fiji07 | Football | 4 | Tue Dec 21, 2010 05:05pm |
Colts/Chargers calls | BigGref | Football | 7 | Fri Jan 09, 2009 02:58pm |
Safety or No Safety that is the question | BrasoFuerte | Football | 14 | Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm |
Colts vs Pats Game | BoBo | Football | 31 | Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:25pm |
Colts/Bucs game | Snake~eyes | Football | 11 | Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:36am |