The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2014, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
NE vs Colts safety

Why was the punters feeble attempt at a throw not ruled an incomplete pass?

Even if a lateral or straight fumble, why a safety when NE knocked it through the end zone?
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2014, 09:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Because by rule, the offense in this play is responsible for the impetus of the ball even with the defense batting the ball.

Rule 3, Section 16

IMPETUS
Article 3 Impetus is the action of a player that gives momentum to the ball and sends it in touch.

The Impetus is attributed to the offense except when the ball is sent in touch through a new momentum when the defense muffs a ball which is at rest, or nearly at rest, or illegally bats:

(a) a kick or fumble;
(b) a backward pass after it has struck the ground;
(c) or illegally kicks any ball (12-4-3).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
I think it was as simple as he never got the throw off, he raised up his hand to try to throw but the defender knocked it out of his hands before he could start the motion. Fumble out the back of the end zone - safety.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Because it wasn't a pass. Had this gone forward and out of the pile, it still would have been a fumble.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Because by rule, the offense in this play is responsible for the impetus of the ball even with the defense batting the ball.

Rule 3, Section 16

IMPETUS
Article 3 Impetus is the action of a player that gives momentum to the ball and sends it in touch.

The Impetus is attributed to the offense except when the ball is sent in touch through a new momentum when the defense muffs a ball which is at rest, or nearly at rest, or illegally bats:

(a) a kick or fumble;
(b) a backward pass after it has struck the ground;
(c) or illegally kicks any ball (12-4-3).

I am trying to understand the rule in lay person's terms.

Let's say that long snap had gone over the punter's head...and came to rest (or near rest) inside the 5-yard line. A defensive player dives for the ball...and knocks it out of the end zone. That would be a touchback? New England ball on the 20, 1st and 10?

Or....same situation. The ball is bouncing at the 10-yard line, heading toward the end zone (it is neither at rest or nearly at rest), when the defense tries to pick it up, but muffs it and the ball goes through the end zone. Is that a safety or a touchback?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
I am trying to understand the rule in lay person's terms.

Let's say that long snap had gone over the punter's head...and came to rest (or near rest) inside the 5-yard line. A defensive player dives for the ball...and knocks it out of the end zone. That would be a touchback? New England ball on the 20, 1st and 10?

Or....same situation. The ball is bouncing at the 10-yard line, heading toward the end zone (it is neither at rest or nearly at rest), when the defense tries to pick it up, but muffs it and the ball goes through the end zone. Is that a safety or a touchback?
In layperson's terms, if the ball ends up in your OWN endzone, it's either a safety or a touchback (generally a safety if it's your fault it ended in the EZ, a TB if it's the other team's) - very generally.

And to answer your specific question, yes - if Indi had provided the force that put the ball out of the EZ, NE would have the ball at the 20.

{Edited because I got the teams backward!}
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
And to answer your specific question, yes - if Indi had provided the force that put the ball out of the EZ, NE would have the ball at the 20.
Thanks.

What about the second scenario (ball is not at rest when the defense muffs it and it goes through the end zone?)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2014, 05:05pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayStateRef View Post
Thanks.

What about the second scenario (ball is not at rest when the defense muffs it and it goes through the end zone?)
Your first situation would be a touchback...

Your second scenario, and the one you're asking about here would be a safety.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colts-Jags block in back. Fiji07 Football 4 Tue Dec 21, 2010 05:05pm
Colts/Chargers calls BigGref Football 7 Fri Jan 09, 2009 02:58pm
Safety or No Safety that is the question BrasoFuerte Football 14 Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm
Colts vs Pats Game BoBo Football 31 Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:25pm
Colts/Bucs game Snake~eyes Football 11 Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1