The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 04, 2013, 03:17pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Touchback or not? (NCAA)

NCAA Rules:

Team A's free kick:
1) bounces at the B-5
2) hits the Referee who is standing 2 yards deep in the end zone
3) rebounds (without touching in the end zone) back to the B-1.

Situation A: ball is declared dead there when no player attempts to secure it.
Situation B: Ball is recovered by Team A at the B-1.

What do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 04, 2013, 03:49pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
I have a dinged R. He should be on the EL, not in the EZ, and for this very reason!
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 04, 2013, 10:19pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Well, yes, but what's the ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 10, 2013, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
I will get you a rule reference when I get a chance.

But it is : Situation B: Ball is recovered by Team A at the B-1.

In this instance the Referee is treated as dead air, unless he was standing OB when touched.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
NCAA Rules:

Team A's free kick:
1) bounces at the B-5
2) hits the Referee who is standing 2 yards deep in the end zone
3) rebounds (without touching in the end zone) back to the B-1.

Situation A: ball is declared dead there when no player attempts to secure it.
Situation B: Ball is recovered by Team A at the B-1.

What do you have?
For most sizes of crews, you have a kickoff out of bounds (R is not on the field - he's out of bounds) - and based on this info alone I don't know whether it went out in or out of the end zone.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 01:52pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
This was on a 7-man crew... R was standing 2 yards deep in the End Zone in the middle of the field when the ball hit him and bounced out to the 1-yard-line. The ball never hit in anything in the end zone, except for the R.

(This actually happened in a game up here a few weeks back. The R called it a touchback, but in looking through my rule book I couldn't find any support for doing so other than 'points not covered in the rules' or the 'sometimes you just gotta officiate' philosophy).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 02:06pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
I think in fairness to B you need to rule this a TB, since the kick would have touched the ground in the EZ if the R had been in the proper position.

Sticking them on the B-1 is technically correct but brutal.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 02:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
I think in fairness to B you need to rule this a TB, since the kick would have touched the ground in the EZ if the R had been in the proper position.

Sticking them on the B-1 is technically correct but brutal.
Worse yet, based on the OP, you're giving A the ball, 1st and G on the 1.

Ouch.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Is it brutal?

What if it didn't hit R, and hit the ground but didn't go out of the EZ? The receiving team is responsible for possessing this ball - they are at fault if they don't cover it up.

I get your point regarding it being brutal if the receiving team did recover it at the 1 (and for whatever reason didn't run it) ... the R's error in getting in the way likely cost them 19 yards. But R knows (or should) they can't just ignore this ball.

(And lastly ... brutality aside... Most games under NCAA rules are on TV - and reviewable. I truly don't think, "Oops, sorry about that" is going to cut it when K's team insists on the ball and it's theirs by rule.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Touchback or Not? Rich Ives Football 6 Sat Nov 03, 2012 09:25pm
touchback, or not? hawktalk Football 4 Mon Sep 26, 2011 01:14pm
Touchback or Touchdown? (NCAA) w_sohl Football 6 Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:35pm
touchback mflynn Football 6 Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:24pm
Touchback....or not Patton Football 10 Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1