![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
This was on a 7-man crew... R was standing 2 yards deep in the End Zone in the middle of the field when the ball hit him and bounced out to the 1-yard-line. The ball never hit in anything in the end zone, except for the R.
(This actually happened in a game up here a few weeks back. The R called it a touchback, but in looking through my rule book I couldn't find any support for doing so other than 'points not covered in the rules' or the 'sometimes you just gotta officiate' philosophy). |
|
|||
|
I think in fairness to B you need to rule this a TB, since the kick would have touched the ground in the EZ if the R had been in the proper position.
Sticking them on the B-1 is technically correct but brutal.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
|
Is it brutal?
What if it didn't hit R, and hit the ground but didn't go out of the EZ? The receiving team is responsible for possessing this ball - they are at fault if they don't cover it up. I get your point regarding it being brutal if the receiving team did recover it at the 1 (and for whatever reason didn't run it) ... the R's error in getting in the way likely cost them 19 yards. But R knows (or should) they can't just ignore this ball. (And lastly ... brutality aside... Most games under NCAA rules are on TV - and reviewable. I truly don't think, "Oops, sorry about that" is going to cut it when K's team insists on the ball and it's theirs by rule.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
One of us is missing something, Mike. You're saying B has to cover a free kick that has touched the ground in the EZ?
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
|
I must be missing something here, but I was always under the impression that a ball that breaks the plane is a touchback. I know that in NCAA, you can't do the play similar to the out of bounds in basketball where a kicking team player jumps and bats it back into the field. When that happens, it's ruled a TB since the ball broke the plane.
How is this different? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NCAA Touchback or Not? | Rich Ives | Football | 6 | Sat Nov 03, 2012 09:25pm |
| touchback, or not? | hawktalk | Football | 4 | Mon Sep 26, 2011 01:14pm |
| Touchback or Touchdown? (NCAA) | w_sohl | Football | 6 | Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:35pm |
| touchback | mflynn | Football | 6 | Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:24pm |
| Touchback....or not | Patton | Football | 10 | Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm |