![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The lesson is know when to stop the play. Like KWH says, you cannot have both fouls if one kills the play. A BIB would not be relevant if the play was already dead and if the contact was not a personal foul. Otherwise I would not even think about the BIB. The line judge screwed up, plain and simple. He has to learn from this and move on.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Agreed, and make him go with the R to explain why the BIB isn't being enforced and why he didn't blow it dead.
It happens. I assume this was a sub-varsity level game since "tonight" = Thursday? Better to learn there than Friday. |
|
|||
|
There is rule support for this. Encroachment makes the ball dead. The players moved around some during a dead ball, and there was some contact that would have been a foul had the ball been live. But since it wasn't blocking by rule, which takes place only during a live ball, it couldn't be illegal blocking.
Since the ball is dead, only dead-ball fouls such as illegal personal contact are still on the table. So the crew actually had a choice: pass on the IBB or rule it a DB PF for unnecessary roughness, depending on the severity of the contact. Given that the crew screwed up by not clearly signaling that the ball was dead, I'd have trouble going with option 2.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
|
This sounds like the opposite of an inadvertent whistle, but I think you handle it very similarly.
Take ownership of the mistake. Explain the mistake to the coach(es). Play ball. After the game, we know who's buying. |
|
|||
|
My son was playing 3rd/4th grade football. L had a flag at the snap, play developed and runner scored a 45-yard TD. L reports his foul to R, and I could see a look of annoyance on his face.
L reported offsides (sic) on the defense. R did something not supported by rule but I was OK with it under the circumstances. He indicated the penalty was declined. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|