The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 12:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 379
What if???

My football crew met up with another crew tonight, at a local watering hole, and they said that they had this play. B55 encroachment and the Line Judge threw a flag, but did not shut down the play, during the play A10 blocked in the back. How is this enforced? Do you ignore the block in the back since the play should not have been run? Is there something in the rule book that give direction on this play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 12:37am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
Slap the LJ upside the head first of all.

Not sure how you can do anything with an encroachment when the LJ never shut the play down. That would kill the play. And I do not consider a BIB a safety foul, so it is not like you have to stick with that call. Bottom line, slap the LJ upside the head or get another one.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 01:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 379
Is there rule support as how to officiate this play? Or is it just up to the Referee? I would be leaning towards enforcing both, because the play did run and both fouls did occur.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 03:10am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Unhappy

Encroachment is ALWAYS a dead ball foul and ALWAYS prevents the ball from ever becoming live.
It is not possible to enforce a Dead Ball BIB foul, since, technically, it did not occur.

Therefore, absent of a Personal Foul, enforce the encroachment and move on.

The Rules Book support you are looking for simply does not exist!
The Line Judge made an officiating error. Now you are suggesting penalizing a team due to an officials inability to understand a BASIC rule. Their would never be Rules Book support for such a suggestion.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 05:09am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
The lesson is know when to stop the play. Like KWH says, you cannot have both fouls if one kills the play. A BIB would not be relevant if the play was already dead and if the contact was not a personal foul. Otherwise I would not even think about the BIB. The line judge screwed up, plain and simple. He has to learn from this and move on.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 05:42am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
Agreed, and make him go with the R to explain why the BIB isn't being enforced and why he didn't blow it dead.

It happens. I assume this was a sub-varsity level game since "tonight" = Thursday? Better to learn there than Friday.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:09am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
Agreed, and make him go with the R to explain why the BIB isn't being enforced and why he didn't blow it dead.

It happens. I assume this was a sub-varsity level game since "tonight" = Thursday? Better to learn there than Friday.
He said they met tonight, not that the play was tonight.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:32am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
There is rule support for this. Encroachment makes the ball dead. The players moved around some during a dead ball, and there was some contact that would have been a foul had the ball been live. But since it wasn't blocking by rule, which takes place only during a live ball, it couldn't be illegal blocking.

Since the ball is dead, only dead-ball fouls such as illegal personal contact are still on the table. So the crew actually had a choice: pass on the IBB or rule it a DB PF for unnecessary roughness, depending on the severity of the contact.

Given that the crew screwed up by not clearly signaling that the ball was dead, I'd have trouble going with option 2.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
This sounds like the opposite of an inadvertent whistle, but I think you handle it very similarly.

Take ownership of the mistake. Explain the mistake to the coach(es). Play ball. After the game, we know who's buying.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
My son was playing 3rd/4th grade football. L had a flag at the snap, play developed and runner scored a 45-yard TD. L reports his foul to R, and I could see a look of annoyance on his face.

L reported offsides (sic) on the defense.

R did something not supported by rule but I was OK with it under the circumstances. He indicated the penalty was declined.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Another option: After smacking the LJ...simply eat it, explain what happened to coaches and consider "offsetting" the fouls and replay...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 03:59pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Another option: After smacking the LJ...simply eat it, explain what happened to coaches and consider "offsetting" the fouls and replay...
An option, but not one that's supported by rule.

With that said, my handling of this situation would be very much dependent on the level of play/experience of the L.

Varsity game: Enforce it as JRutledge and KWH said.

3rd grade game with a brand-new L... might just go with a do-over under the "spirit of the game" philosophy, after explaining it to both coaches.

But, if there's any doubt at all, enforce it by the book. You'll never get in trouble enforcing it by the book.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 04:11pm
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Cool Uh...NO!

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Another option: After smacking the LJ...simply eat it, explain what happened to coaches and consider "offsetting" the fouls and replay...
Except for these issues:
2013 NFHS Rules Book - Rules 10-2-1a, b, and c
Which all state ONLY LIVE BALL FOULS CAN BE OFFSET

Since the only actual foul that occurred was a dead ball foul for Encroachment it would be difficult to offset anything.

But, as they say in Kentucky, Never let the Rules Book get in the way of a good ball game.

Again, nothing occurred on this play other than the L screwed the pooch, get over it, admit your error to the coaches, and move on!!!

Why some find it the necessity to fabricate new rules to cover their ass is beyond me...
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber

Last edited by KWH; Fri Sep 27, 2013 at 04:13pm. Reason: Too Fick mi spelin missteaks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1