The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 11:24am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrounge View Post
The second exception for 4th down or try does not make this distinction or bar the snapper from being on the end or, by inference, ineligible. It seems that since care was taken to note that on 1st, 2nd, and 3rd down that there are restrictions on the snapper, the omission of said restrictions in the exception for 4th down and tries would make it legal.
Indeed. Exception 2 basically suspends the requirement that interior linemen wear ineligible numbers. You could have all 11 wearing eligible numbers, and if the snapper is on the end of the line, he's eligible.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Here is where I am having a problem with exception 2:

If all 11 players are numbered 1-11 (eligible #s) which players are in the game according to the part of the exception that says "a player in the game under this exception must assume an initial postion on his line of scrimmage between the ends..."?

...do we just assume #11 player on the end of the line, who may or may not be the snapper, is not replacing one of the 5 50-79 guys?

Last edited by whitehat; Wed Sep 25, 2013 at 12:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 12:33pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
The 5 of them that assume the position normally numbered 50-79.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 12:52pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Here is where I am having a problem with exception 2:

If all 11 players are numbered 1-11 (eligible #s) which players are in the game according to the part of the exception that says "a player in the game under this exception must assume an initial postion on his line of scrimmage between the ends..."?

...do we just assume #11 player on the end of the line, who may or may not be the snapper, is not replacing one of the 5 50-79 guys?
If he's on the end of the line, he's not replacing one of the ineligibles.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Scrounge, I went back and re-read your post and that made a lot of sense (and maven and HL as well). I see what you are saying and generally agree. However, we all, from time to time, see players numbered 50-79 legally lined up on the end of line.

Surehands, back to your OP. Did we answer your question? "Can the center be eligible for a pass on the swing gate if he has the correct number and is the end player on one end of the line? Where is this covered in High School rulebook?"

According to 7-2-5b I would say yes he is eligible as long as...
1. snapper has an eligible number and is on the end of the line...and...
2. it is done on 4th down or a try ...and...
3. its not done on 1st, second or 3rd down...and...
4. the snapper is not replacing one of the #50-79 guys. (But, we have all seen #50-79 guys legally line up on the end of the line and..the clincher...it may be hard to convince a coach that the opppents normal snapper is not usually a #50-79 guy who was replaced by #22 who caught the pass and scored the winning point(s)).


I am truly not trying to be difficult Just seems like they could clarify and simplify this one a little more.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 03:17pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
As my state supervisor said, "don't make this any harder than it actually is".

The exception applies only to scrimmage kicks. Downs 1-3, only the snapper can have an otherwise eligble number. Down 4 and try- any/all K players can have eligible numbers. The phrase "normally numbered" applies to normal non-scrimmage kick offensive formations being applied to the scrimmage kick.

The end is still the end, a back is still a back. They are still required to be eligible by number and position.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 03:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
As my state supervisor said, "don't make this any harder than it actually is".

The exception applies only to scrimmage kicks. Downs 1-3, only the snapper can have an otherwise eligble number. Down 4 and try- any/all K players can have eligible numbers. The phrase "normally numbered" applies to normal non-scrimmage kick offensive formations being applied to the scrimmage kick.

The end is still the end, a back is still a back. They are still required to be eligible by number and position.
So, the snapper can only be eligible if he is on the end, and if he's wearing an eligible number. That's it, that's the list. NO need to worry about what down it is, or what the formation is (other than the fact that the snapper must be an uncovered end.)

??
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 03:51pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
So, the snapper can only be eligible if he is on the end, and if he's wearing an eligible number. That's it, that's the list.
Yep.

Quote:
NO need to worry about what down it is, or what the formation is (other than the fact that the snapper must be an uncovered end.)
??
An end is "uncovered" by definition. If there's another player on the LOS between the sideline and the "end"... then that other player is the end.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 05:16pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
So, the snapper can only be eligible if he is on the end, and if he's wearing an eligible number. That's it, that's the list. NO need to worry about what down it is, or what the formation is (other than the fact that the snapper must be an uncovered end.)

??
Here's another possibility: ignore the numbering exception.

Put 5 ineligible numbers on the line, and put the snapper wearing an eligible number on one end. Put somebody else on the other end.

Legal formation, snapper eligible, any down or scrimmage formation.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Here is where I am having a problem with exception 2:

If all 11 players are numbered 1-11 (eligible #s) which players are in the game according to the part of the exception that says "a player in the game under this exception must assume an initial postion on his line of scrimmage between the ends..."?

...do we just assume #11 player on the end of the line, who may or may not be the snapper, is not replacing one of the 5 50-79 guys?
The 5 players on the LOS between the ends are the 5 players that are in the game under the numbering exception
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot gun center Murd Football 26 Wed Mar 18, 2009 02:49am
Center injury phansen Football 12 Thu Oct 11, 2007 01:02pm
Center Sneak? KCFan21 Football 15 Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:44pm
Center keep pickoff Football 21 Tue Oct 14, 2003 10:02pm
Anyone see Sports Center??? Danvrapp Basketball 10 Wed Jan 31, 2001 08:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1