![]() |
|
|
|||
In NFHS is it the NZ or ENZ??
ART. 3 . . . Any K player may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is in or behind the neutral zone and advance, unless it is during a try. ART. 5 . . . When any K player touches a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone to R’s goal line before it is touched beyond the neutral zone by R and before the ball has come to rest, it is referred to as “first touching of the kick” and the place is the “spot of first touching.” Such touching is ignored if it is caused by R pushing or blocking K into contact with the ball.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
It is as it reads- Article 3 is the NZ, Article 5 is the ENZ
Article 5 is to allow the touching in the ENZ to be ignored by linemen attempting to bat or block the kick. Without that you'd have 1st touching awfully close. |
|
|||
Quote:
Why would K linemen be trying to bat the kick??? I don't get why one part of the rule says nz and another part says enz.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight Last edited by bigjohn; Wed Sep 25, 2013 at 01:53pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The first part (Art 3) is about advancing a kick. The latter (Art 5) is about touching a kick. |
|
|||
Article 5- My bad, thinking R. I'm thinking R batting a low scrimmage kick, the touching is ignored.
Principle is the same- kick glances off the back side of an oblivious K lineman before traveling on downfield. Pretty heavy price to pay to award first touching there to R at the LOS where it bounced off his yazz. Article 3- Enables K to recover and advance, pass, or kick again during the down. It also enables them to retain possession, say on a blocked 3rd down FG attempt. |
|
|||
So if K recovers a kick (beyond the NZ) that hits a K player in the ENZ that would result in a first down say it was 4th and 1 it is not a first down but Rs ball, correct?
That is the only part I really think is a bit cloudy.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Legal or not legal player | splitveer | Basketball | 4 | Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:10pm |
NBA Logo Legal in NFHS? | NathanRT | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 07, 2008 08:10pm |
Legal Blocking Technique? (NFHS) | UmpJM | Football | 23 | Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:27pm |
NFHS legal windup | SMEngmann | Baseball | 88 | Wed Apr 13, 2005 01:05pm |
Religious head scarf legal? (Girls NFHS) | Robmoz | Basketball | 17 | Sun Nov 21, 2004 02:48am |