4th and 4 from K's 35. K commits an illegal shift, ball snapped. K-15 punts ball then (a) while ball is in air R-10 holds at R's 31. R-34 catches ball at R's 15, runs back to R's 22. -OR-(b) R-34 catches ball at R's 15, runs back to R's 22 and during run back, R-65 holds at R's 27 -OR- (c) K-15 hesitates, takes 1 step to his left then punts the ball and R-84 holds K-25 at K's 40 BEFORE the punt is made
Do we have a double foul in situation (a) or (c)? The ruling of a double foul is that both teams committ fouls during same live ballsituation, but no change of possesion. There is clearly a change of possesion here. (a) is a PSK enforcement So how is this play enforced? What if R was to decline the ill shift. IS R's PSK foul in (a) considered before the final change of possesion
In situation(b), this a running play foul (NO PSK) since it happened after possesion changed (end of the kick). The enforcement spot at the 22 correct?
Is (c) considered a PSK enforcement? If it is not PSK, then is this where R can decline the ill shift, penalize for the hold, and keep the ball? Or is this a foul during a "loose ball play" it includes all the runs which preceed it?
It happened on a kick play but BEFORE the kick happened. If is not becasue it was before the kick occured, how can your wing officials determine if it was before /after the kick. All I can find in the rules is that it happend before the kick ends. What if it happend before the kick happens? Or did NF intend it to be at anytime on a kick play before the kick happens?
|