The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Play for you (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92834-play-you.html)

Welpe Wed Nov 14, 2012 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 862113)
When R muffs the punt and K recovers the muff, the play is dead

The play is only dead if a scrimmage kick is recovered by K beyond the LOS. This was recovered behind.

OKREF Wed Nov 14, 2012 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 862118)
The play is only dead if a scrimmage kick is recovered by K beyond the LOS. This was recovered behind.

You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.

maven Wed Nov 14, 2012 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 862113)
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.

Yes, you can. The correct answer to the OP (and relevant rules) posted here: http://forum.officiating.com/footbal...tml#post860979

MD Longhorn Wed Nov 14, 2012 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 862113)
When R muffs the punt and K recovers the muff, the play is dead and it is K's ball at the spot where they recovered the muff.

So, you didn't even read the case play that is just 3 up from this post?

OKREF Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 862122)
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.

This was a typo. Meant to say "You can advance a muff"

OKREF Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 862122)
You can't advance a muff. Can you advance a muff that is recovered behind the neutral zone? That is the central question. I have to look this up.

I am wrong. Incomplete pass. R ball 1-10 at the 50, correct?

MD Longhorn Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 862136)
I am wrong. Incomplete pass. R ball 1-10 at the 50, correct?

No. (The answer is already in this thread. Read from the beginning if you want to understand both the correct ruling and why it's the ruling.)

OKREF Wed Nov 14, 2012 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref1973 (Post 860973)
NFHS: K punts from the 50, R21 muffs at the R 45. Kick rolls back to the K40, where K21 picks up the ball, then throws a forward pass to the R20 where it falls incomplete. What ya got?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 862140)
No. (The answer is already in this thread. Read from the beginning if you want to understand both the correct ruling and why it's the ruling.)

Got it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1