![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Once again, the NCAA rule is superior and prevents this craziness. |
Guys, these case plays get real convoluted once we start deviating from the original post. Its easy to lose track of which play we are discussing.
The simple rule of thumb an old WH taught me is that once R touches a scrimmage kick beyond the NZ, its going to be a "first down for somebody at the end of the down". That somebody is normally the team in possession at the end of the down. Remember, K can advance a muffed scrimmage kick behind the LOS, even if touched beyond and it rebounds back. They may then run, or pass or kick again behind the LOS. The LOD provision will not apply due to the new series being awarded. And of course there will be the inevitable USC on R's head coach after you've gone and tried to explain all this to him. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51 Does ineligible receiver downfield come into play here? More than likely the center at the least will release to cover kick. Quote:
OP by Ref1973 ... NFHS: K punts from the 50, R21 muffs at the R 45. Kick rolls back to the K40, where K21 picks up the ball, then throws a forward pass to the R20 where it falls incomplete. What ya got? |
Quote:
Yes, since this is a legal forward pass, all passing restrictions (eligibility, interference) are in effect. Note that, even if K avoids IED, they are likely to run afoul of the PI restrictions, which apply to the passing team from the snap until the pass is touched or is incomplete. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
ok, I'll dive in here:
a) The play is dead at K40 when recovered (and a possible delay of game for throwing the ball after the completion of the play depending on when the whistle was sounded). A muff beyond the expanded neutral zone is not ignored. It is a muff and a recovered muff of a kick or punt cannot be advanced by K. b) same as above |
Quote:
|
5.1.3 SITUATION C:
Fourth and 10 on K's 45-yard line. K1 punts the ball beyond the neutral zone. R1 muffs the ball back behind the neutral zone where K1 recovers and: (a) falls on the ball at K's 40-yard line; or (b) throws a forward pass to K3 which is complete at the 50-yard line and R1 interferes with K3; or (c) K1 punts the ball and R1 fair catches at his 30-yard line. RULING: Since R1 touched the kick beyond the neutral zone, it will be first down for the team in possession in (a), (b) and (c). In (a), it is a first down for K at K's 40-yard line. In (b), the pass is legal as there had been no change of team possession. If K accepts the penalty for interference, it will be K's ball at R's 40-yard line. In (c), the second punt is legal as there had been no change of team possession. The ball belongs to R first and 10 on its own 30-yard line. (5-1-2f; 6-2-1; 7-5-1) |
Quote:
|
On the original question. K's ball on the 40.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am. |