![]() |
Play for you
NFHS: K punts from the 50, R21 muffs at the R 45. Kick rolls back to the K40, where K21 picks up the ball, then throws a forward pass to the R20 where it falls incomplete. What ya got?
|
I'll just go ahead and say I have K 1/10 at the 50.
|
Quote:
|
NFHS:
Kick ends behind the line of scrimmage, which means that anyone can pick up the ball and advance. K's forward pass is legal, as it is the only forward pass thrown during the down, and it's thrown behind the LOS and prior to change of team possession. Result of the play: incomplete forward pass. If it's 4th down, it'll be 1st and 10 for R at the previous spot. If it's not 4th down, K puts the ball in play at the 50, down and distance as appropriate. |
Ok so you guys saying R's ball, how do you reconcile the fundamental statement:
When R is first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the NZ, a new series is awarded to the team in possession at the end of the down. |
1973 is right - K 1/10 at the 50.
NFHS 5-1-3: "When a scrimmage down ends with the ball in the field of play or out of bounds between the goal lines, a new series is awarded to: ...(f.) The team in possession at the end of the down, if R is the first to touch a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the expanded neutral zone, unless the penalty is accepted for a non post-scrimmage kick foul which occurred before the kick ended or unless 6-2-7 [scrimmage kick out of bounds not in possession, or in joint possession] applies." NFHS 7-5-1: "It is a legal forward pass, if during a scrimmage down and before team possession has changed, a player of A throws the ball with both feet of the passer in or behind the neutral zone when the ball is released. Only one forward pass may be thrown during a down." So the forward pass is legal (meets all requirements of 7-5-1: during a scrimmage down, no change of possession, thrown by A behind the neutral zone, first forward pass of the down). Since the kick is touched by R 5 yards beyond the line of scrimmage (thus beyond the expanded neutral zone), whoever recovers it will have a new series. |
Change this slightly.
After K21 picks up the ball, he runs to the R45 where he throws an illegal forward pass that a) falls incomplete or b) is caught by K80 at the R25 where he is tackled. |
I would say the ball would belong to K, 1st and 10 at their own 40 since a muff can only be recovered but not advanced. The ball would become dead once K recovered it.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
NFHS: K punts from the 50, R21 muffs at the R 45. Kick rolls back to the K40, where K21 picks up the ball....runs to the R45 where he throws an illegal forward pass that a) falls incomplete or b) is caught by K80 at the R25 where he is tackled. So the first half of the play is the same: K recovers a kick behind the NZ that R had touched beyond the NZ. So K will be awarded a new series at the end of the down. The run is legal, but the forward pass beyond the NZ is not. IFP, enforced from the spot of the foul, 5 yards. K will still end up with 1/10 @ 50, clock on the snap. The LOD provision of IFP lapses due to K being awarded a new series. |
Quote:
In the O.P. it was stated that k muffed the punt. I thought that a muff didn't make it a change of possossion. Am I wrong here? Please advise. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Not according to the book. This is told in 2 different ways. #1 would be NFHS Rule 2-27 (PG. 33). A muff is the touching of a loose ball by a player in an unsuccessful attempt to secure possession. Or 2-34; Art. 3 (Pg. 36) A change of possession occurs when the opponent gains player possession during the down. So according to these definations, the fact that R touches the ball or "muffs" it does not constitute a change of possession. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Once again, the NCAA rule is superior and prevents this craziness. |
Guys, these case plays get real convoluted once we start deviating from the original post. Its easy to lose track of which play we are discussing.
The simple rule of thumb an old WH taught me is that once R touches a scrimmage kick beyond the NZ, its going to be a "first down for somebody at the end of the down". That somebody is normally the team in possession at the end of the down. Remember, K can advance a muffed scrimmage kick behind the LOS, even if touched beyond and it rebounds back. They may then run, or pass or kick again behind the LOS. The LOD provision will not apply due to the new series being awarded. And of course there will be the inevitable USC on R's head coach after you've gone and tried to explain all this to him. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51 Does ineligible receiver downfield come into play here? More than likely the center at the least will release to cover kick. Quote:
OP by Ref1973 ... NFHS: K punts from the 50, R21 muffs at the R 45. Kick rolls back to the K40, where K21 picks up the ball, then throws a forward pass to the R20 where it falls incomplete. What ya got? |
Quote:
Yes, since this is a legal forward pass, all passing restrictions (eligibility, interference) are in effect. Note that, even if K avoids IED, they are likely to run afoul of the PI restrictions, which apply to the passing team from the snap until the pass is touched or is incomplete. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
ok, I'll dive in here:
a) The play is dead at K40 when recovered (and a possible delay of game for throwing the ball after the completion of the play depending on when the whistle was sounded). A muff beyond the expanded neutral zone is not ignored. It is a muff and a recovered muff of a kick or punt cannot be advanced by K. b) same as above |
Quote:
|
5.1.3 SITUATION C:
Fourth and 10 on K's 45-yard line. K1 punts the ball beyond the neutral zone. R1 muffs the ball back behind the neutral zone where K1 recovers and: (a) falls on the ball at K's 40-yard line; or (b) throws a forward pass to K3 which is complete at the 50-yard line and R1 interferes with K3; or (c) K1 punts the ball and R1 fair catches at his 30-yard line. RULING: Since R1 touched the kick beyond the neutral zone, it will be first down for the team in possession in (a), (b) and (c). In (a), it is a first down for K at K's 40-yard line. In (b), the pass is legal as there had been no change of team possession. If K accepts the penalty for interference, it will be K's ball at R's 40-yard line. In (c), the second punt is legal as there had been no change of team possession. The ball belongs to R first and 10 on its own 30-yard line. (5-1-2f; 6-2-1; 7-5-1) |
Quote:
|
On the original question. K's ball on the 40.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am. |