![]() |
|
|
|||
What would you do?
:10 seconds left on A's 1 yd. line, 20-17 is the score, A runs a running play and gets stuffed for a loss at the 3, they are out of TO's, trying to unpile the QB graps the defender laying on the RB with the ball by the back of the jersey and throws him off the pile. 6.7 seconds are now left, Do you:
A) call the PF on the QB, which will stop the clock and after penalty is stepped off gives them the chance to line-up and spike ball to stop clock and bring out the FG team? B) ignore the PF and let clock run out? Fed rules. |
|
|||
First, it's unclear to me that you have a PF. He was trying to help his teammate get up so they could get set and spike it, right? If you're sure that this is a PF, then you must flag it and penalize, and the clock is secondary (not irrelevant, but secondary).
But if it's not obviously a PF, you have more options. 1. Ignore it and control the situation verbally. 2. If you judge that B was illegally attempting to consume time by being slow to get off the runner, then you can penalize that (3-6-2b, delay of game). The clock will start on the snap if you flag this. 3. You could even flag B for DOG and A for the PF, enforcing both DB fouls, clock on the snap. |
|
|||
Quote:
As I mentioned, it's possible to have 2 flags here: one for DOG if B is intentionally being slow to unpile in order to consume time illegally, and one for your PF. Maybe that's the best option, since then both teams will feel that you're screwing them. ![]() |
|
|||
His point is that if you penalize the pf you give a benefit to the team that fouls.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
#1: I think you mean B's 3 yard line.
#2: Quote:
#3: If this is a real life play, how aggressive was your crew's dead ball officiating in this instance. This tight, we don't need to be letting A lay hands on B or vice versa. If there was no time to prevent it then A has to suffer the consequences, which will be 15 yards further back from a scoring opportunity. 3-4 ART. 6 . . . When a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally, the referee shall order the clock started or stopped. This give you discretion. If B is slow to get off the pile, you are covered. If A's illegal act is allowing to conserve time, you are also covered. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Call HL and U together.
Tell HL to move the box back to the 18 WITHOUT DELAY. Tell U to RUN the ball back to the 18 and move back to the 10. Make the signals that are required, grab your laundry off the field, run back to position, give the ready and wind. If A is disciplined and fast enough to get the snap off and spike it, they can keep it. Don't delay in stopping the clock, and the BJ/LJ should have eyes on the clock to know if there is time left. It might take me a second or two to stop the clock when the foul occurs during the normal part of the game. It won't be any different here. |
|
|||
Quote:
I would do just as you said, but place the ball at the 16 1/2, and signal dead ball delay of game against B, then dead ball personal foul against A. Enforce in order of occurrence. Then you're covered. A now has nothing to complain about. B can't complain that you stopped the clock, because their guy fouled first. Even though delay normally starts on the snap, you have the authority to wind it, which obviously you should. Tough situation for sure. Always good to think these things through ahead of time. I doubt that it would be easy on the spur of the moment. So what did you guys do, or is this hypothetical? Last edited by WestCoaster; Mon Oct 22, 2012 at 12:46pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Many of you are jumping to conclusions and inventing facts not in evidence. There were 10 seconds left, snap, handoff, run, pile, down... now there are 6.7 seconds left. There's NO WAY this is a foul on B... not yet, not that fast. If you're going to flag the USC, you can't just invent a foul on B to get yourselves out of hot water with B.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
B is under no obligation to unpile any faster than they normally would, and it is up to the officials, not A's QB, to determine if B is delaying the game. 3.3 seconds doesnt sound like too much time given a running play at the 1ydline, when there was obviously penetration by B. Down and distance were not given, so not sure they even had another play, but if they were playing for the tie, I think they would have planned the kick as the last timed down. If playing for the win, I think the clock running out is what they expected to happen.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|