The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 09:10am
Official Forum Member

Inadvertant whistle

Fellas,

First of all I am just a coach trying to learn the rules as the season goes along. I know I do not spend as much time as you on the rules.

Our situation last night was in a JV game. Punting situation where the punter drops the ball, then the ball was tipped/blocked on the punt. The ball goes around and the receiving team picks it up then fumbles it. While the ball is on the ground the whistle blows and they award the ball to the Receiving team. While I think this is correct because of the blocked punt and the receiving team gaining possession of the football prior to the inadvertant whistle, it got me thinking.

When, if anytime, does the offense/kicking team get to choose the play or the down over on an inadvertant whistle? I vaguely remember this scenerio could be true.

Thanks for all the help!
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 09:14am
Official Forum Member

Inadvertent whistle??? Don't you realize we have a Green Bay - Seattle debacle to talk about?!?!?!

(Just kidding...)

The offense USUALLY gets the choice on an IW. The kicking team not so much - they would have to be the team in possession when the IW occurred.

West Houston Mike
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 09:27am
Medium Kahuna

Coach, if you have a particular play in mind, it might be quicker just to ask that. Otherwise, someone (like me) will just post the IW rule and you can read it for yourself. It has 4 major provisions, concerning pass/kick, other loose ball, ball in possession, or accepted penalty plays.
Old Tue Sep 25, 2012, 10:50am
Official Forum Member

Please post the rule. I would love to read it and see if I can make any sense of it. I am just trying to learn more about the rules. As far as a specific play....here is one.