The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member

snap over punters head----safety?

We had a situation the other night where the snap went over the punters head and into the endzone. What would be the ruling on each of these plays? By the way I am a coach wanting to make sure our punter handles this situation correctly.
a) punter kicks the ball out of the back of the endzone
b) punter scoops or bats the ball out of the back of the endzone
c) punter grabs the ball and throws or tosses the ball out of the back of the endzone.

What would be the call on each? Is there any other situation that would cause us to be penalized in this situation. Thanks a bunch.
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 02:26pm
TODO: creative title here

All three of those actions would result in a safety. If your punter recovers the snap and is tackled or takes a knee in the end zone, that would also result in a safety.
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member

We got into the discussion that there might be a penalty if our punter grabbed the ball and threw it out of the end zone. I do not know the rule so that is why I am here. Could that be a possibility of HOW the punter got the ball out of the endzone to take a safety where it might be a penalty.
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member

Last year, I witnessed scenario a) in an NCAA D3 game. The referee threw the flag for the illegal kick, which on that play didn't matter because the end result was the same...safety.

The only reason I mention it is because I would think that if the defense were to be penalized during the down as well, the illegal kick would have created an offsetting penalty situation instead of yardage (and possibly a first down) for the kicking team.
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer View Post