![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
okay K kicks to R, ball only goes 8 yds. , as R bends down to pick up the ball K makes contact with R knocking R down. K picks up the ball and is subsequently tackled. After discussion R is awarded ball at where it was first touched. I think that there should have been a penalty on K. Let me know what you think and if you think there should have been a penalty what should have been called and how many yds. Sorry if this is not clear enough but I am new to football officiating and am trying to learn
|
|
|||
|
Sounds like a scrimmage kick rather than a free kick.
Once the kick is grounded, you can't have KCI (6-5-6). The covering official must judge whether the contact with R was a PF, and if so should flag that. Probably it was nothing: K may legally block R during the kick. If K is first to touch the kick, then it's first touching at that spot. Since there were no fouls on the play, R will have the option to take the ball at the spot of first touching or at the end of the kick (6-2-5). Usually, no choice is offered: the crew will spot the ball at the most advantageous spot, set the chains, RFP and away we go! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A little short........ | derwil | Softball | 4 | Sat Apr 02, 2011 08:06pm |
| Short Memories | just another ref | Basketball | 29 | Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:58pm |
| Short Right Field. | JRutledge | Baseball | 64 | Sat May 02, 2009 12:06pm |
| In short supply! | Michael-Plentysquirrel | Basketball | 14 | Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:26am |
| 1 Inch Short | tw1ns | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 06, 2002 01:31am |