Thread: short kick
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2012, 07:35pm
maven maven is offline
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Sounds like a scrimmage kick rather than a free kick.

Once the kick is grounded, you can't have KCI (6-5-6). The covering official must judge whether the contact with R was a PF, and if so should flag that. Probably it was nothing: K may legally block R during the kick.

If K is first to touch the kick, then it's first touching at that spot. Since there were no fouls on the play, R will have the option to take the ball at the spot of first touching or at the end of the kick (6-2-5).

Usually, no choice is offered: the crew will spot the ball at the most advantageous spot, set the chains, RFP and away we go!
Reply With Quote