The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   short kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92364-short-kick.html)

drwells1 Sat Sep 08, 2012 05:12pm

short kick
 
We had a situation last night and am not sure that we made the correct call and thought that I might give it to ya'll to help me see if we did it right. Okay here goes, white kicks to green and it is a short kick only travelling 8 yds, as white is reaching down to pick up the ball green makes contact with white, knocking white down and green picks the ball up and is subsequently tackled.
We ruled white ball where touched with no penalty for the contact. I think now that there should have been a penalty for the contact but not sure. A little help would be appreciated.

maven Sat Sep 08, 2012 06:01pm

Can you rephrase it in terms of K and R? It sounds as if K was blocked off the kick, R recovered it, and yet you awarded it to K with no flag. Is that what happened?

drwells1 Sat Sep 08, 2012 06:55pm

okay K kicks to R, ball only goes 8 yds. , as R bends down to pick up the ball K makes contact with R knocking R down. K picks up the ball and is subsequently tackled. After discussion R is awarded ball at where it was first touched. I think that there should have been a penalty on K. Let me know what you think and if you think there should have been a penalty what should have been called and how many yds. Sorry if this is not clear enough but I am new to football officiating and am trying to learn

maven Sat Sep 08, 2012 07:35pm

Sounds like a scrimmage kick rather than a free kick.

Once the kick is grounded, you can't have KCI (6-5-6). The covering official must judge whether the contact with R was a PF, and if so should flag that. Probably it was nothing: K may legally block R during the kick.

If K is first to touch the kick, then it's first touching at that spot. Since there were no fouls on the play, R will have the option to take the ball at the spot of first touching or at the end of the kick (6-2-5).

Usually, no choice is offered: the crew will spot the ball at the most advantageous spot, set the chains, RFP and away we go!

Adam Sat Sep 08, 2012 08:36pm

I read this as free kick. In that case, it's a foul.
10 yards from the previous spot, re-kick.

9-3-8 (NFHS)

Reffing Rev. Sat Sep 08, 2012 08:53pm

Or if R did not touch the ball and K did before the ball went 10 yards R could decline the penalty and take the ball at the spot of 1st touching.

Adam Sat Sep 08, 2012 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 853734)
Or if R did not touch the ball and K did before the ball went 10 yards R could decline the penalty and take the ball at the spot of 1st touching.

Missed that. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1