The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2012, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJOfficial View Post
I think this is an interesting potential loophole in the intentional grounding rule, namely 9-5-2d, which states that "a pass intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver" is illegal. The argument seems valid that the pass is in fact being thrown to an eligible offensive receiver, namely the QB himself.

However, I think that, despite having an eligible receiver "in the area," we should consider this to be a pass "intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage," which should be ruled as intentional grounding.
But it wasn't thrown incomplete, it was intentionally batted down by the receiver, and we allow receivers to intentionally ground passes. It so happens that the passer and the receiver in this case are the same person. (And I was thinking of this not only to save yardage, but to conserve time.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in never touched legally inbounds jdmara Basketball 11 Thu Mar 22, 2012 04:50pm
Legally Equipped? Why Do We Ask? Spence Basketball 62 Thu Oct 28, 2010 01:40pm
Legally leaving the court.... ronny mulkey Basketball 16 Sat Dec 17, 2005 03:16pm
FP - Runners advance legally? DaNewGuy Softball 3 Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:28am
ground up by ground rules refjef40 Softball 4 Mon Mar 18, 2002 11:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1