The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2011, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
With Atrisco leading 24-15 -- and needing to win by 10 or more points -- a St. Pius defender was called for a tripping penalty with just three seconds remaining on the clock. That penalty pulled Atrisco to within field-goal range, where the subsequent 41-yarder would have landed the team a playoff berth.

Instead, the Jaguars never got to attempt the kick because officials started the clock on the final play before the ball was snapped. That shouldn't have happened since the penalty on the previous play should have ensured that the clock didn't begin until the ball was snapped.
What's the Fed rule here? Under NCAA rules, a foul or accepted penalty has nothing to do with the status of the clock.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot throw-in violation in playoff game. KMBReferee Basketball 23 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:57am
DPI blown call ? jstafan Football 15 Tue Nov 03, 2009 09:55am
ML blown call? alex7 Baseball 19 Wed Aug 12, 2009 07:24pm
U2 Blown Call Cubbies87 Baseball 17 Tue May 04, 2004 11:56am
was it a blown call? Ruben Trinidad Basketball 11 Sat Feb 17, 2001 09:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1