The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2011, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
With Atrisco leading 24-15 -- and needing to win by 10 or more points -- a St. Pius defender was called for a tripping penalty with just three seconds remaining on the clock. That penalty pulled Atrisco to within field-goal range, where the subsequent 41-yarder would have landed the team a playoff berth.

Instead, the Jaguars never got to attempt the kick because officials started the clock on the final play before the ball was snapped. That shouldn't have happened since the penalty on the previous play should have ensured that the clock didn't begin until the ball was snapped.
What's the Fed rule here? Under NCAA rules, a foul or accepted penalty has nothing to do with the status of the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 12:05am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
What's the Fed rule here? Under NCAA rules, a foul or accepted penalty has nothing to do with the status of the clock.
No, but since a foul occurred on the last timed down, A should've had an untimed down to try the field goal.

The article has the right conclusion, but the wrong reasoning.

EDIT: I've read another article that the previous play was an incomplete pass that had a defensive penalty attached to it. If so, the R made a mistake when winding the clock.

Points scored / point differential should never be a tiebreaker in HS sports.

Last edited by Rich; Sat Nov 12, 2011 at 12:08am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The game didn't end on a play with a foul under any scenario. I'm getting conflicting reports -- that there was a DPI (ostensibly an incomplete pass) or a tripping foul (could have resulted in DPI but unclear as to status of play). The only issue is whether the clock should have started on the RFP or the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 12:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
The game didn't end on a play with a foul under any scenario. I'm getting conflicting reports -- that there was a DPI (ostensibly an incomplete pass) or a tripping foul (could have resulted in DPI but unclear as to status of play). The only issue is whether the clock should have started on the RFP or the snap.
If the clock was supposed to start on the RFP, and time ran out before the snap, then one more untimed down would be needed before the period could end. So either way the officials messed it up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
I see. Under NCAA rules, the rule only concerns itself with what the clock is at the end of the play with the foul. I thought I'd heard Fed was the same, but I guess not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2011, 03:40pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
No, but since a foul occurred on the last timed down, A should've had an untimed down to try the field goal.

The article has the right conclusion, but the wrong reasoning.

EDIT: I've read another article that the previous play was an incomplete pass that had a defensive penalty attached to it. If so, the R made a mistake when winding the clock.

Points scored / point differential should never be a tiebreaker in HS sports.
For years in Texas, especially when only one team from each district could go to the playoffs, coin flips were the deciding factor.

In the playoffs, penetrations (one snap inside your opponents 20 was considered a penetration) were used to settle tie games. It then progressed from first downs, yardage, etc. in the event penetrations were tied. Using this scenario, a team didn't have to score, just merely get inside an opponents 20 yard line at the end of a close game.

In the state final games in the event of a tie, both teams were declared co-champs.

Crazy isn't it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2011, 04:34pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
In the playoffs, penetrations (one snap inside your opponents 20 was considered a penetration) were used to settle tie games. It then progressed from first downs, yardage, etc. in the event penetrations were tied. Using this scenario, a team didn't have to score, just merely get inside an opponents 20 yard line at the end of a close game.

In the state final games in the event of a tie, both teams were declared co-champs.

Crazy isn't it.
In NC in the early 70's, a playoff game tie game was broken by total yardage gained. The only state championship my high school has ever won was a tie game co-championship in 1972.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2011, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 37
Sounds like there should have been an untimed down if there indeed was a tripping foul or dpi during the previous down.
Coach should have challenged the referee at that time. Once it is over, it is over......... unless it goes to court. Hope it gets thrown out with all costs assigned to plainiffs.
This was a crew boot, not just the referee.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2011, 07:48pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ia-Ref View Post
Sounds like there should have been an untimed down if there indeed was a tripping foul or dpi during the previous down.
Coach should have challenged the referee at that time. Once it is over, it is over......... unless it goes to court. Hope it gets thrown out with all costs assigned to plainiffs.
This was a crew boot, not just the referee.
Already been denied. Also the crew came out and admitted their mistake.

__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spot throw-in violation in playoff game. KMBReferee Basketball 23 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:57am
DPI blown call ? jstafan Football 15 Tue Nov 03, 2009 09:55am
ML blown call? alex7 Baseball 19 Wed Aug 12, 2009 07:24pm
U2 Blown Call Cubbies87 Baseball 17 Tue May 04, 2004 11:56am
was it a blown call? Ruben Trinidad Basketball 11 Sat Feb 17, 2001 09:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1