The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Obligatory 16 yard Hail-mary video (https://forum.officiating.com/football/80993-obligatory-16-yard-hail-mary-video.html)

MNBlue Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 789285)
Isn't (almost) EVERY pass INTENTIONALLY thrown to avoid loss of yardage? ;)

Some are thrown to gain yardage. :p

But not the way the game was played that I officiated last night! :eek:

RadioBlue Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789283)
is held so his forward progress is
stopped

Mike there are 3 ways to be down, no?

It's a judgement call. Judgement is something that all of us use every week. It's something which is refined and hammered and polished week in, and week out by those of us who work hard to do so.

It's also something you obviously lack.

CT1 Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789279)
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?

John, I know you're smarter than this.

For there to be Intentional Grounding, the ball has to hit the ground -- IOW, incomplete.

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:31am

Quote:

If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).
the rule says, " held" so that his forward progress is stopped.

I know it is a judgement call but don't you think he was stopped? Would you defend that call?


There are other illegal forward passes besides GROUNDING!

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:39am

and since the ball was dead.

USC on A's QB

ART. 2 . . . When the ball becomes dead in possession of a player, he shall not:
a. Intentionally kick the ball.
b. Spike the ball into the ground.
c. Throw the ball high into the air or from the field of play or end zone.
d. Intentionally fail to place the ball on the ground or immediately return it to
a nearby official.

JugglingReferee Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:14pm

R throws a flag for IG, and then his second flag for USC.

So not only are we taking away a touchdown, we are going to enforce a loss of down, and then 15 more yards on top of that, giving: 4D/31 @ B-35. :D :eek:

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:20pm

no IG, he was down.

RadioBlue Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:36pm

If he was down, how can you have an IFP? The play was over.

JugglingReferee Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789308)
no IG, he was down.

I disagree. Neither of his knees touched the ground before he threw the ball.

I also wouldn't rule that forward progress was stopped. Mike Carey properly let Eli Manning play through an in-the grasp situation that is now called among the best non-calls in Super Bowl history.

APG Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:40pm

I must say...this is trolling at the next level. Can't really believe this is being entertained.

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:44pm

I appreciate the kudos! APG. It is fun to think outside the box sometimes though don't you think?

I do think you could make a case for ball being dead before the pass, though. :)

Rich Fri Sep 23, 2011 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789321)
I appreciate the kudos! APG. It is fun to think outside the box sometimes though don't you think?

I do think you could make a case for ball being dead before the pass, though. :)

A very poor case which would only be substantiated with a very, very quick whistle.

Some of work games in the real world.

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 23, 2011 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 789286)
I know you're trolling, but I can't resist...
If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).

BJ is more than capable of being an idiot completely on his own... you don't have to help. In this case, you're simply wrong - so great job supporting his case. Congrats.

(Can't find where you're wrong and your sitch does not fit the rule? Look for the word "held" in that rule if you can't.)

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 23, 2011 02:39pm

Here's the deal... The wording of the rule is wrong. BJ has pointed that out (about 12 times). He is right that the wording of this rule, to be completely correct, needs the word "incomplete" in the table section of the rule.

There. I've just agreed with BJ.

I think I just threw up a little.

Cobra Fri Sep 23, 2011 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 789294)
John, I know you're smarter than this.

For there to be Intentional Grounding, the ball has to hit the ground -- IOW, incomplete.

That is not correct. It is a foul to intentionally throw a forward pass into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver. It does not matter if the ball hits the ground.

4th down, A12 intentionally throws to an area not occupied by an eligible receiver. B20 catches the pass, runs and fumbles the ball. A recovers.

A12 fouled when he threw the pass. B will accept the penalty, down will not be repeated. B will take the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1